Concert Details

19 February 2009 – Eric Clapton & His Band


Venue: Nippon Budokan

City: Tokyo

Country: Japan

Band Lineup:

Eric Clapton – guitar / vocals
Doyle Bramhall II – guitar / vocals
Chris Stainton– keyboards
Willie Weeks – bass
Abe Laboriel, Jr. – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals



Show Notes:

This was the third of seven shows at the Budokan in February 2009. There were slight revisions to the set list. After this gig, EC’s solo tour took a four day break. In between, he performed two co-headlining shows with Jeff Beck at the Saitama Super Arena.

Special Guest(s):


Set List:

01. Tell The Truth
02. Key To The Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. I Shot The Sheriff
05. Here But I’m Gone
06. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad
07. Driftin’
08. Travelin’ Alone
09. That’s Alright
10. Motherless Child
11. Running On Faith
12. Motherless Children
13. Little Queen of Spades
14. Before You Accuse Me
15. Wonderful Tonight
16. Layla
17. Cocaine
18. Crossroads (encore)

Fan Reviews:

Review by Monami Oshiro
It was the first time for me to go to Eric Clapton’s concert on the 19th February at Budokan. On that day, I went to a Japanese restaurant that Eric mentioned once as one of his favourite restaurants in the whole world, and ate chicken cutlet, and then I noticed that many people in the restaurant were eating the same chicken cutlet, which I heard Eric likes, and were talking about his concert – that was fun!

The first number was "Tell The Truth", which I like very much. As I saw his appearance, I could not keep up my tears – he was there! just in front of me!! His guitar play was much more amazing than I expected it to be. "Hoochie Coochie Man" is one of the songs I wanted to listen to in a concert live, and the guitar was amazing, and it seemed that Eric himself enjoyed playing it very much. The beginning of "I Shot The Sheriff" was impressive for me because of the unique arrangement – it began with only chorus. "Why Does Love" was really cool and dramatic and I thought it was a good song for concert.

"That’s Alright" was a song I listened to for the first time and his acoustic guitar performance was just fantastic! When he changed his guitar and played one chord, I realised that it was "Motherless Child", which I longed to hear in the acoustic section.

461 Ocean Boulverd is the most favourite album in the world, and I was so glad that Eric played "Motherless Children". Eric changed his guitar to a slide guitar, and from the rhythm of the drum of the intro, I could tell that he would play this song, and it lifted me up. "Wonderful Tonight" was truly wonderful. I love the lyrics "Is that you just don’t realise how much I love you?", and when he sang it in a very sweet voice, I was completely fascinated – I felt as though my heart was melting.

When he began to play "Layla", people stood up and clapped their hands. I was beside myself with the excitement, and shouted "Layla". "Cocaine" was unforgettable too – I guess I was dancing with the song. He played somewhat slow "Crossroads" as an encore. It was funny that, after the performance, Eric and his bands gathered together and bowed four times! I love you Eric! I felt soooo wonderful that night!!

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook