Concert Details

21 February 2009 – Eric Clapton & Jeff Beck


Venue: Saitama Super Arena

City: Saitama

Country: Japan

Band Lineup:

EC Band
Eric Clapton – guitar / vocals
Doyle Bramhall II – guitar / vocals
Chris Stainton– keyboards
Willie Weeks – bass
Abe Laboriel, Jr. – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals

JB Band
Jeff Beck – guitar
Tal Wilkenfeld – bass
David Sancious – keyboards
Vinnie Colaiuta – drums



Show Notes:

This was the first of two special co-headling shows with Jeff Beck at the Saitama Super Arena. EC’s solo Winter Tour resumes 24 February at Tokyo’s Budokan. As this was a weekend show, it started at 5PM, which is typical of Japanese concerts.

Special Guest(s):


Set List:

01. The Pump (JB)
02. You Never Know (JB)
03. Cause We’ve Ended As Lovers (JB)
04. Stratus (JB)
05. Angel (JB)
06. Led Boots (JB)
07. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat – Brush WIth The Blues (JB)
08. Solo instrumental (JB)
09. Blue Wind (JB)
10. A Day In The Life (JB)
11. Peter Gunn Theme (JB)
12. Driftin’ (EC)
13. Layla (EC)
14. Motherless Child (EC)
15. Running On Faith (EC)
16. Tell The Truth (EC)
17. Little Queen Of Spades (EC)
18. Before You Accuse Me (EC)
19. Cocaine (EC)
20. Crossroads (EC)
21. You Need Love (EC & JB)
22. Listen Here – Compared To What (EC & JB)
23. Here But I’m Gone (EC & JB)
24. Outside Woman Blues (EC & JB)
25. Brown Bird (EC & JB)
26. Wee Wee Baby (EC & JB)
27. Want To Take You Higher (EC & JB)

Fan Reviews:

Review by Hide / Japan
It was a historical night. Jeff tries to draw out all the possibilities from the guitar, and Eric tries to express his feelings with the guitar. Jeff’s beige vs Eric’s light blue stratocaster. 1st set was Jeff. As usual, he played the guitar like the operator. That is, his guitar was like the music machine. It was Jeff style in ‘A Day in The Life’ that was most impressive. 2nd set was Eric Clapton. The opening unplugged version was started with ‘Driftin” and ‘Layla’ and ‘Motherless Children’ were followed. Electric set was started with ‘Tell the Truth’ and ‘Before You Accuse Me’ was a shuffle version of the 70’s. Last two songs of ‘Cocaine’ and ‘Crossroad’ were continuously performed. Finally, Eric ended his play with his word of ‘See you in a minute’. There is no Wonderful Tonight and ‘Layla electric version. 3rd set was Jeff joined Eric’s band. The exchange of Eric and Jeff’s solo was like the communications between the talent and the talent. Eric’s emotional power of expression and the detailed sound control of Jeff were clearly different approach. However, that was wonderful effect for the band. At the end, it was impressive that the Japanese national flag was reflected on the back screen when all members bowed.

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook