Concert Details

20 February 2014 – Eric Clapton & His Band


Venue: Nippon Budokan

City: Tokyo

Country: Japan

Band Lineup:

Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Chris Stainton – piano, keyboards
Paul Carrack – organ, keyboards
Nathan East – bass
Steve Gadd – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals


No Support

Show Notes:

Review by Tsuzuki Hiroyuki
The set list of this tour doesn’t much change in comparison with that of 2006 or 2009 tour. I have already heard many times these songs such as “ Tell The Truth“ or “Key To The Highway“. Not a few people think that they would like to hear the other attractive songs. If the other songs, for example “Old Love“ or “Little Wing “ are added to the list, the whole show will make a deeper impression on the audience.

This is not that Eric is satisfied with the routine set  list, I suppose, but that his consciousness is beyond the songs. He seems to pursue his best guitar playing in whatever songs. The important is the depth of his concentration, not the object he is trying to reflect.

The second night has started with “Pretending.“ It reminds me of the 1990 “Journeyman” tour. Eric’s voice is a bit getting better. One of the highlights of the show is “Little Queen Of Spades“. Eric’s solo has reached to edge, thundering in the hall.

Review by Dave “Bluescrazy” Langley
Order of songs changed tonight which gave the show pace and this created a better show. Memo to lighting team: when a band member takes a solo it is good to light them up. Show begins at 19:11 ends at 21.00. Noticed in the flyer on the seats, WOW WOW TV will be recording one of the shows for broadcast in April – clearly not the first two nights as no cameras were present.  Correction: There was an error in translating the flyer. WOW WOW TV will broadcast the Crossroads Guitar Festival 2013 this April. No EC concerts in Japan will be filmed for television broadcast. 

Set List:

01. Pretending
02. Key To They Highway
03. Tell The Truth
04. Hoochie Coochie Man
05. Honest Man
06. Wonderful Tonight
07. After Midnight 
08. Driftin’
09. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
10. Alabama Woman
11. Layla
12. Tears In Heaven
13. How Long (Paul Carrack / Vocals)
14. Before You Accuse Me
15 Crossroads
16. Little Queen Of Spades
17. Cocaine
18. High Time We Went (Encore – Paul Carrack / Vocals)

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook