Concert Details

20 May 10 - Eric Clapton


Venue: Wembley Arena

City: London

Country: United Kingdom

Band Lineup:

Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Steve Winwood – hammond organ, piano, guitar, vocals
Chris Stainton – keyboards
Willie Weeks – bass
Steve Gadd – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals



Show Notes:

First of two nights at London’s Wembley Arena.

Set List:

01. Had To Cry Today
02. Low Down
03. After Midnight
04. Presence Of The Lord
05. Shape I’m In
06. Glad
07. Well Alright
08. Tuff Luck
09. Pearly Queen
10. Forever Man
11. Midland Maniac
12. Going Down
13. Georgia
14. Drifting Blues
15. How Long
16. Layla
17. Can’t Find My Way Home
18. Split Decision
19. Voodoo Chile
20. Cocaine
21. Dear Mr. Fantasy (encore)

Fan Reviews:

Review by Nadja Teichert
What a truly spectacular night it was. Having been to the Birmingham concert already 2 days ago, I did not think they could top it, but they did. The set list remained unchanged, though that made no difference as the whole show was fantastic.

Eric and Steve seem to easily hand over notes to each other in complementing their playing. Both guitars transition within a song so unassumingly easy and it works perfectly between Hammond and guitar as well. Why Eric and Steve have taken almost 40 years until 2007 to find out that they match so well is a mystery forever. To watch and hear the joy of them playing is a privilege.

The monster song is Voodoo Chile and all songs before are the preparation for that feast. Other highlights were After Midnight, Presence of the Lord, Forever Man, The Shape I’m in, Georgia, Driftin’ (very slow version), Tough Luck Blues, Going Down, Glad/Well Alright with another very different solo from Eric in Glad, etc., etc., etc. I’m looking forward to seeing this show back home in Switzerland as well. My friends will be in for a treat.

Review by Ruan Milborrow
This was just a fantastic concert – I must have seen EC over 100 times since first attending Crystal Palace back in the seventies – but he and Steve Winwwod have a real understanding when playing together. ‘Voodoo Chile’ was the obvious climactic highlight but the acoustic ‘Can’t find my way home’ was sublime. I was fortunate enough to see Eric and Jeff Beck play at the O2 – that was good but the chemistry between the two was minimal when compared to last night. What really stood out for me was how Steve Winwood brought out the best in Eric – he had to go the extra mile on the solos when so often recently he has been playing on autopilot. Winwood is really known for his keyboard skills but last night he demonstrated how great a guitarist he is. ‘Dear Mr Fantasy’ and ‘Voodoo Chile’ had him keeping up with Eric easily. The sound of their two guitars interweaving beautifully. Close your eyes and it would be difficult to tell who was who. The sound was perfect, the lighting was particularly inventive and the video camerawork were spot on. A true return to form from Eric – he spoke more on stage than I’ve heard him for years – he actually seemed to be enjoying himself and he wasn’t the only one! A truly memorable evening.

Review by Nick Kernoghan
I just wanted people to know what a great show this was. I’m still buzzing! The first half was good, but everything from Pearly Queen onwards was just phenomenal. The absolute highlights were Tough Luck ( I can listen to Eric play slow blues all night long), Going Down and Voodoo Chile, with the latter the absolute stand out number. Unusually Eric made a little speech at the start of the acoustic set which was most welcome and something he should do more often. A great night.

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook