Concert Details

8 August 2008 – Eric Clapton & His Band


Venue: Egilsholl Arena

City: Reykjavic

Country: Iceland

Band Lineup:

Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Doyle Bramhall II – guitar, backing vocals
Chris Stainton – keyboards
Willie Weeks – bass
Abe Laboriel Jr – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals


Ellen Kristjansdottir

Show Notes:

08/08/08 marked Eric Clapton’s first-ever concert in Iceland. For the first time in recent memory, Eric did not perform "Layla" during a solo concert appearance.

Special Guest(s):


Set List:

01. Tell The Truth
02. Key To The Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. Here But I’m Gone
05. Outside Woman Blues
06. Isn’t It A Pity
07. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad
08. Driftin’
09. Nobody Knows You
10. Motherless Child
11. Travelling Riverside Blues
12. Running On Faith
13. Motherless Children
14. Little Queen of Spades
15. Before You Accuse Me
16. Wonderful Tonight
17. Cocaine
18. Crossroads (encore)

Fan Reviews:

Review by Hannes Birgir Hjalmarsson / Reykjavik, Iceland
Clapton Concert in Reykjavik…Almost Perfect. The Concert was great, the band was abviously having fun on the stage and the sound was close to perfection. Eric himself played the strat with more power than in Parken 2004 and Bramhall II has greatly improved since the same concert. It was fun to see the two of them exchanging solos all evening with different styles. As usual, Stainton was great on the piano and Weeks on the bass. But Abe Laboriel Jr. was the suprise of the show for me – he is really a great drummer and completed the band. Some reviewer said he was the best drummer to tour with Clapton … I can’t really comment on that but boy was he good!
01. Tell The Truth – a Derek and the Dominos song – the opening was perfect and the band obviously ready for a great evening.
02. Key To The Highway – Always one of my favorites, Derek again.
03. Hoochie Coochie Man – a Muddy Waters song which Clapton always does justice – here the band really started kicking and the crowd got into it.
04. Here But I’m Gone – a prelude to the next song; well played.
05. Outside Woman Blues – a great powerful rendition of one of the great blues songs played by Cream.
06. Isn’t It A Pity – A George Harrison song, not one of my favorite but the band really played great!
07. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad – yet another Derek and the Dominos song – possibly the highlight of the concert!
08. Driftin’ – Clapton on acoustic with the band great slow blues, followed by
09. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out – the crowd got into this song, it was obvious a large part of the crowd knew song from the "Unplugged" album.
10. Motherless Child – Clapton on 12 string acoustic, probably the only song that seemed out of sync the whole concert.
11. Travelling Riverside Blues – mmm!! "Ear candy!" A Robert Johnson blues and the band was really into it!
12. Running On Faith – one of the gems from Clapton – beautiful!
13. Motherless Children – a good song – not one of my favourites.
14. Little Queen Of Spades – another of Robert Johnson’s blues songs – great solos!
15. Before You Accuse Me – another blues favourite played faster than I’m used to – again great solos.
16. Wonderful Tonight – a crowd favourite, necessary at every Clapton concert (it seems), nothing out of the ordinary. The band concluded the main set with:
17. Cocaine – a powerful and masterful performance by the band (got me worried that Layla would be missing (had been played after Wonderful Tonight at recent concerts). The crowd applauded for several minutes and the band reappeared and played a masterful performance of one of my favourite Cream songs (by Robert Johnson):
18. Crossroads – really a great ending to the concert although I was still hoping for Layla as were many of the crowd who applauded for 4-5 minutes yelled for the song! The concert lasted just over 100 minutes and was a great experience; actually all it needed for perfection was Layla!

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook