Concert Details

31 Dec 05 - Eric Clapton


Venue: Private Location

City: Woking, Surrey

Country: United Kingdom

Band Lineup:

Eric Clapton – guitar / vocals 
Gary Brooker – keyboards / vocals
Chris Stainton – keyboards
Dave Bronze – bass
Henry Spinetti – drums

Show Notes:

The New Year’s Eve Dance is alcohol-free party and has been hosted by Eric Clapton and friends almost every year since 1992. It is a private event and tickets are not put on sale to the general public. Each year, the band bill themselves under an unusual name.

Note: Some sources indicate the third song of the evening was “One Track Mind”. The Where’s Eric! Team has the evening’s set list in its archives and has confirmed that it was not performed according to individuals who were present. Gary Brooker introduced the third song as “a little bit of voodoo charm from New Orleans” and sings the vocal, which repeatedly included the words “ooh poo pa do”. Additionally, some sources report that “A Whiter Shade Of Pale” was not performed, but replaced by “No Woman No Cry.” “No Woman, No Cry” lead into “A Whiter Shade Of Pale,” the latter being listed on the evening’s set list. In fact, Gary Brooker first started the unusual medley off by singing a few bars of “When A Man Loves A Woman” into “No Woman, No Cry” before it finally morphed into Procol Harum’s “A Whiter Shade Of Pale.”

Set List:

01. Knock on Wood
02. Reconsider Baby
03. Ooh Poo Pa Doo
04. You Can’t Judge A Book
05. Hoochie Coochie Man
06. Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door
07. Sweet Little Rock & Roller
08. Not Fade Away
09. Black Jack
10. Willie And The Hand Jive
11. Old Black Joe (listed on evening’s set list as “Jerry Lee Song”)
12. In the Midnight Hour
13. Stormy Monday
14. Poison Ivy
15. Goodnight Irene
16. Got My Mojo Working
17. Blueberry Hill
18. Five Long Years
19. No Woman No Cry > A Whiter Shade Of Pale
20. Cocaine
21. Little Queenie
22. Kansas City (encore)

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook