Concert Details

15 March 1999 – Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame (Curtis Mayfield)


Venue: The Grand Ballroom, Waldorf-Astoria Hotel

City: New York

State/Province: NY

Country: United States

Band Lineup:

House Band – Paul Schaeffer, Musical Director
Eric Clapton – guitar / vocals
D’Angelo – keyboards / vocals
Paul McCartney – vocals
Billy Joel – keyboards / vocals

Show Notes:

Annual Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony was recorded for television broadcast by VH1 (US). First aired 17 March 1999. Set list not complete, exact running order unknown. Eric and D’Angelo performed as part of the induction of Curtis Mayfield into the Hall of Fame.

Additionally, Eric Clapton has been inducted into the Hall of Fame three times: as a solo artist into the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame (2000), as a member of The Yardbirds (1992) and Cream (1993). Eric also attended the annual ceremonies in 1994 to induct The Band, and in 2005 to induct George "Buddy" Guy.

Set List:

01. Promised Land – Bruce Sprinsteen & The E Street Band
02. Backstreets – Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band
03. Tenth Avenue Freeze Out – Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band
04. In The Midnight Hour – Bruce Sprinsteen & The E Street Band, Wilson Pickett, Billy Joel
05. Only The Good Die Young – Billy Joel
06. Runaway – Billy Joel, Bonnie Raitt
07. I’ve Been Trying – Eric Clapton, D’Angelo
08. Early In The Morning – Eric Clapton, D’Angelo
09. Son Of A Preacher Man – Melissa Etheridge
10. Respect Yourself / I’ll Take You There – The Staples Singers
11. Blue Suede Shoes – Paul McCartney, Bonnie Raitt, Eric Clapton
12. What I’d Say – Paul McCartney, Billy Joel, Eric Clapton, Dion, Bonnie Raitt, Chris Isaak
13. People Get Ready – All Star Jam with Bono, Bruce Springsteen, Nils Lofgren, Eric Clapton, Lauryn Hill, more
14. Let It Be – All Star Jam with Paul McCartney, Billy Joel, Eric Clapton, Lauryn Hill, Bonnie Raitt, Melissa Etheridge, The Staples Singers, Wilson Pickett, more

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook