Vinyl Release of A Tribute To Curtis Mayfield Features EC

In record stores starting July 17th as part of RSD Drops, A Tribute To Curtis Mayfield is out on vinyl for the first time. Limited to 4,950 copies worldwide, the 2LP RSD Exclusive will be issued on light blue and grey mixed vinyl.

Previously released on CD only in 1994, the album features tracks by 17 artists who came together in tribute to one of the most influential musicians behind soul and politically conscious African-American music, Curtis Mayfield. Eric Clapton contributed his take on “You Must Believe Me” for the project. Recorded at New York’s Hit Factory in August 1993, the track was produced by Nile Rogers and featured an outstanding lineup of musicians.  

Other featured artists on A Tribute To Curtis Mayfield include Aretha Franklin, Whitney Houston, B.B. King, Bruce Springsteen, Elton John, Steve Winwood, and The Isley Brothers.

For more information on titles on RSD Drops Lists or to find a participating record store near you, visit  

1.   “Choice of Colors” – Gladys Knight
2.   “It’s All Right!” – Steve Winwood
3.   “Let’s Do It Again” – Repercussions and Curtis Mayfield
4.   “Billy Jack” – Lenny Kravitz
5.   “Look Into Your Heart” – Whitney Houston
6.   “Gypsy Woman” – Bruce Springsteen
7.   “You Must Believe Me” – Eric Clapton
8.   “I’m So Proud” – The Isley Brothers
9.   “Fool for You” – Branford Marsalis and The Impressions
1. “Keep On Pushin'” – Tevin Campbell
2. “The Makings of You” – Aretha Franklin
3. “Woman’s Got Soul” – B.B. King
4. “People Get Ready” – Rod Stewart
5. “(Don’t Worry) If There’s a Hell Below, We’re All Going to Go” – Narada Michael Walden
6. “I’ve Been Trying” – Phil Collins
7. “I’m the One Who Loves You” – Stevie Wonder
8. “Amen” – Elton John and Sounds of Blackness 

Session Details for “You Must Believe Me”
Recorded at the Hit Factory, New York City – August 1993
Eric Clapton – guitar / vocals
Nile Rogers – guitar
Richard Hilton – keyboards
Barry Campbell – bass
Sterling Campbell – drums
John Powe – backing vocals
Shawn Powe – backing vocals
Demtrius Peete – backing vocals
John Clay – backing vocals

#RSDDrops   #RSD21

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook