Rockin’ In Raleigh: EC & His Band

What a difference a day makes according to those who attended both of Eric Clapton’s North Carolina Concerts. Charlotte, on 2 April, was laid back and didn’t really cook until the latter third. The show on 3 April at Raleigh’s PNC Arena was far more typical of the tour with EC firing on all cylinders right from the word go. Allen S wrote, “Eric and band were really on.  EC was energetic, happy, and played great! The set list was a great mix of music from all parts of his career as well as a good mix of acoustic and electric.  Doyle (as well as all band members) played great.  I think that having another guitar player gives Eric some freedom to be a part of a band (historically what he has said is his favorite role.)  I personally liked a unique version of Layla (a touch of reggae), Tell The Truth, and Stones In My Passway best, but Little Queen of Spades was right up there.  Paul Carrack’s playing and vocals were excellent.  A great band and a great evening.”

Our longtime contributor Steve Proctor said, “Charlotte’s show was laid back until the Robert Johnson set. The Raleigh audience responded throughout the show. Even during the acoustic set, people were on their feet when a familiar song started. And yet, they showed appropriate respect during “Tears in Heaven.” Every solo was fiery. Every song was memorable. Eric seemed happy every moment he was onstage. I cannot recall a better solo show (ie, without Cream, Winwood’s, Beck, etc) since 2004.”

After a day off, the EC and His Band will perform tonight (5 April) at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Connecticut. Tomorrow, they’re in Pittsburgh for the final show of the US leg of EC’s 2013 Tour. Then, they’ll head to New York City for the Crossroads Guitar Festival on 12/13 April.

It’s still not to late to send reviews of shows you’ve attended … email them to

Eric Clapton & His Band Set List
Raleigh, North Carolina – 3 April 2013

01. Hello Old Friend
02. My Father’s Eyes
03. Tell The Truth
04. Gotta Get Over
05. Black Cat Bone
06. Got To Get Better In A Little While
07. Tempted (Paul Carrack)
08. Badge
09. Driftin’
10. Lay Down Sally
11. Tears In Heaven
12. Layla
13. Wonderful Tonight
14. How Long (Paul Carrack)
15. Stones In My Passway
16. Love In Vain
17. Crossroads
18. Little Queen of Spades
19. Cocaine
20. Sunshine Of Your Love
21. High Time We Went (Paul Carrack)

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook