Rare Gary Brooker / Eric Clapton B-Side To Be Released As Bonus Track

In March 1980, Eric Clapton joined Gary Brooker in the studio to help record Gary’s new single along with Dave Markee (bass), Henry Spinetti (drums) and Gallagher and Lyle (backing vocals). They recorded "Leave The Candle" b/w "Chasing The Chop." Released by Chrysalis in April 1981, it has been much sought after by collector’s of both Brooker’s and Clapton’s music for many years. On 30 May, Estoteric Recordings will re-release Brooker’s second solo album, Lead Me To The Water with "Chasing The Chop" as a bonus track. Eric is also featured on two of the album tracks ("Home Loving," "Lead Me To The Water"). These latter songs were recorded in 1980 during sessions for EC’s 1981 solo album, Another Ticket. At the time, Gary Brooker was a member of EC’s touring and recording band. Trainspotters take note: the version of "Home Loving" on Lead Me To The Water is different than the one recorded for EC’s unreleased album Turn Up Down.

Other friends who stopped by the studio to give Brooker a hand with his album were George Harrison, Phil Collins, Tim Renwick and Albert Lee. Originally released in 1982 and out of print on CD, the Esoteric release of Lead Me To The Water has been fully re-mastered. All songs were written by Gary Brooker.

Lead Me To The Water Track List:
01. Mineral Man – with George Harrison
02. Another Way
03. Hang On Rose
04. Home Loving – with Eric Clapton
05. The Cycle – with George Harrison
06. Lead Me To The Water – with Eric Clapton
07. The Angler
08. Low Flying Birds
09. Sympathy For The Hard Of Hearing
Bonus Tracks
10. Chasing The Chop – with Eric Clapton
11. Badlands


Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook