Pilgrim Audiophile Edition Coming Soon

Specialist label Audio Fidelity will issue an audiophile edition of Eric Clapton’s album, Pilgrim, on Hybrid SACD. First released in 1998, it was the guitarist’s first disc of original material since 1989’s Journeyman. With 12 self-penned tracks, Clapton experimented heavily with drum machines, electronica, R&B and even utilized the string section of the London Session Orchestra. Tying it together is Clapton’s trademark guitar work of great hooks and emotional melodies. In addition to the title track, the disc features the hit single “My Father’s Eyes” and two songs that would go on to become live concert favorites: “River of Tears” and “She’s Gone”. Two covers – Bob Dylan’s “Born In Time,” and EC’s take on St. Louis Jimmy’s “Going Down Slow” round out the disc. Following its release, Pilgrim went on to achieve multi-platinum status and is now hailed as a Clapton classic.

In his 2007 autobiography, the guitarist wrote that his goal was to make the saddest record of all time. Heading into the studio with producer Simon Climie, he had only two songs ready: “Circus” and “My Father’s Eyes” both of which had been evolving since 1992’s MTV Unplugged concert. On the studio floor, 10 new originals took shape. The project took more than a year to complete and Clapton counts it amongst his personal favorites.

Musicians who joined EC in the studio for this ground-breaking record are Andy Fairweather Low (guitar), Nathan East (bass), Dave Bronze (bass), Pino Paladino (bass), Steve Gadd (drums), Chris Stainton (Hammond Organ), Joe Sample (piano), Paul Carrack (Hammond Organ), Greg Phillinganes (keyboards), Simon Climie (keyboards / synthesizer bass / backing vocals / drum programming), Chyna (backing vocals), Luis Jardim (bass / percussion), Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds (backing vocals), Tony Rich (backing vocals), Paul Brady (tin whistle / backing vocals), and Paul Waller (drum programming).

Where’s Eric! Magazine Subscribers:  Keep your eye on for an upcoming opportunity to win a copy of this release!

Eric Clapton: Pilgrim Track List
Audio Fidelity AFZ188 / Hybrid SACD

01. My Father’s Eyes
02. River of Tears
03. Pilgrim
04. Broken Hearted
05. One Chance
06. Circus
07. Going Down Slow
08. Fall Like Rain
09. Born in Time
10. Sick and Tired
11. Needs His Woman
12. She’s Gone
13. You Were There
14. Inside of Me

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook