Opening Night: Jeff Beck and Eric Clapton at The O2, London

Eric Clapton and Jeff Beck – legendary guitarists and former Yardbirds – performed their first co-headling concert of 2010 at The O2 on 13 February. When the concerts were announced last September, Eric said, “I’ve always considered Jeff Beck to be one of the finest guitar players around. He’s a friend, a great guy, and a truly gifted musician. We had such a fun time in Japan that it seemed natural to play together again.”

Early reports from London indicate it was an excellent concert all the way around. Jeff, with his brand-new band, kicked things off with an exciting set that featured special guests Joss Stone on vocals and Sharon Corr on violin (The Corrs). Jeff’s set opened with "Eternity’s Breath." It included "Led Boots", and his tour-de-force "A Day In The Life", which featured a 12-piece orchestra. Finishing up shortly after 9PM, there was a short break while the stage was set for Eric Clapton & His Band.

Eric opened his first concert appearance of 2010 alone on stage armed with an acoustic guitar for "Driftin’". Accompanied by his band, Eric performed 10 more songs including "Layla", "I Shot The Sheriff," "Tell The Truth" and "Crossroads." Jeff then joined Eric and his band on stage for a true collaboration with a suprise ending. The fellow Yardbirds performed an additional 8 songs. Opening with "Shake Your Moneymaker", they progressed through "Moon River", "You Need Love," "Outside Woman Blues," "Brown Bird," "Wee Wee Baby," and "(I Want To Take You) Higher." They closed out the evening with Jeff and Eric sharing vocals on "Hi Ho Silver Lining".

Both men spent time in the Yardbirds, one of the key bands in Britain’s 1960s blues revival. Beck took over when Clapton departed in March 1965. Clapton left the group as it was moving towards a more commercial sound and he wanted to remain true to his blues roots. The band had a number of chart hits before Jeff Beck left in 1968.

After the Yardbirds, Clapton went from success to success with bands like John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers, Cream, Blind Faith, Delaney & Bonnie & Friends, and Derek and the Dominos before launching a solo career that has spanned 40 years. Clapton is a triple inductee into the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame (The Yardbirds, Cream and as a solo performer).

Following the Yardbirds, Beck went on to form The Jeff Beck Group and later Beck, Bogert & Appice. Beck launched his solo career in 1974. His recorded output has touched on many genres including blues-rock, jazz fusion and electronica. Beck was inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame with the Yardbirds in 1992 and was inducted as solo artist at the annual ceremonies in 2009. His most recent release, At Ronnie Scott’s, has gone platinum and a new album, Emotion & Commotion, is due 13 April. From mid-April, Jeff will be on a solo tour in the states and will be one of the performers at Eric’s upcoming Crossroads Guitar Festival in June.

Over the years, the duo have occasionally joined forces on stage. The first – a benefit for Amnesty International – took place in 1981. At that event, called "The Secret Policeman’s Other Ball," Clapton and Beck performed "Crossroads," "Further On Up The Road," "Cause We’ve Ended As Lovers" as well as the all-star finale of "I Shall Be Released". They teamed up again at the 1983 ARMS shows in London (along with fellow Yardbirds alum Jimmy Page) and Clapton’s 2004 Crossroads Guitar Festival in Dallas, Texas. Jeff Beck and his touring band also performed at Clapton’s 2007 Crossroads Guitar Festival. In November 2007, Clapton returned the favor by appearing at Beck’s concerts at Ronnie Scott’s in London. Almost one year ago on 22 and 22 February, they shared a double bill at the Saitama Super Arena in Japan.

Jeff and Eric return to The O2 tomorrow, Sunday 14 February, before heading to the U.S. and Canada for four dates. There was no support act.


Jeff Beck – guitar
Jason Rebello – keyboards
Rhonda Smith – bass
Narada Michael Walden – drums

Eric Clapton – guitar / vocals
Chris Stainton – keyboards
Walt Richmond – keyboards
Willie Weeks – bass
Steve Gadd – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals

THE O2 – 13 FEBRUARY 2010
Jeff Beck’s Set List (45 Minutes)

01. Eternity’s Breath
02. Stratus
03. Led Boots
04. Corpus Christi Carol – with 12 piece orchestra (from Jeff’s forthcoming album)
05. Bass solo by Rhonda Smith
06. Hammerhead – with 12 piece orchestra (from Jeff’s forthcoming album)
07. Mna Na Heireann – with Sharon Corr on violin and orchestra
08. People Get Ready
09. Big Block
10. There’s No Other Me – with Joss Stone (from Jeff’s forthcoming album)
11. I Put A Spell On You – with Joss Stone (from Jeff’s forthcoming album)
12. A Day In The Life – with 12 piece orchestra

Eric Clapton’s Set List (Approximately 60 Minutes)
01. Driftin’ – acoustic
02. Layla – acoustic
03. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out – acoustic
04. Running On Faith – acoustic
05. When Somebody Thinks You’re Wonderful
06. Tell The Truth
07. Key To The Highway
08. I Shot The Sheriff
09. Wonderful Tonight
10. Cocaine
11. Crossroads

Jeff Beck’s and Eric Clapton’s Set List (Approximately 70 Minutes)
01. Shake Your Moneymaker
02. Moon River
03. You Need Love
04. Outside Woman Blues
05. Little Brown Bird
06. Wee Wee Baby
07. (I Want To Take You) Higher
08. Hi Ho Silver Lining – encore (Eric and Jeff shared vocals)

Special thanks to Phil Dippel who was sending photos real-time via his iPhone and to all the fans who checked in with the set list and updates. You can read fan reviews here. WERE YOU THERE? Email set lists and reviews to It doesn’t matter if it’s your 1st Clapton concert or your 101st – everyone’s perspective is welcome! Thousands of Eric’s fans from all over the world will visit daily to check out what songs are played and read what other fans have to say about the shows. No aliases or anonymous submissions, please. Upon request, we will use your first name and surname initial only. Learn more here.

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook