Nathan East’s New Album Due January 20

Watch a behind the scenes look at the mastering sessions for “Serpentine Fire” featuring Eric Clapton, Phil Collins and Philip Bailey

With a discography that includes Eric Clapton’s “Tears in Heaven,” Michael Jackson’s “Bad,” and Randy Newman’s “I Love L.A.,” REVERENCE, produced by Yamaha Entertainment Group Founder Chris Gero, is the follow up to Nathan East’s 2014 eponymous debut as a solo artist. The album will be available January 20 worldwide.

Nathan’s resume reads like a music industry’s who’s who and he has enlisted an all-star line-up including Eric Clapton, Phil Collins, David Paich, Yolanda Adams and Philip Bailey to perform on his sophomore release.

REVERENCE is a collection of original tracks and covers spanning the R&B, pop, rock and jazz songbook, and includes a groove-heavy take on Stevie Wonder’s “Higher Ground,” a gripping rendition of Earth, Wind & Fire’s “Love’s Holiday” with Philip Bailey on vocals and a soul stirring interpretation of “Over the Rainbow,” which features Nathan’s 16-year-old son Noah on piano.

Bass Magazine said “Lifecycle” sheds light on Nathan’s “seemingly unlimited virtuosity” and his “uncanny knack for meshing eclectic instrumentation with dynamic and striking arrangements.” The song was released as a single and has already spent 12 weeks at #1 at America‚Äôs Music Chart / Mediabase, Billboard,  Smooth Top-50 and Indie Charts for Smooth Jazz.

The Gospel-tinged “Feels Like Home,” with Yolanda Adams on vocals, has also been released as a single.

Another highlight of the album is a rousing cover of Earth, Wind & Fire’s “Serpentine Fire,” which was originally recorded with East’s brother Marcel in 1991 with Eric Clapton on guitar and Phil Collins on drums. Moogie, Nathan’s longtime engineer, who mixed the original cinematic cover, discovered the track 25 years later, and after a long search for the tapes, finally uncovered them in Patti Austin’s basement. After the tape was digitally remastered, the three Earth, Wind & Fire members sang (Philip Bailey), played additional bass parts (Verdine White), and added percussion (Ralph Johnson) to the track, resulting in a daring, head-turning, cinematic journey.

As a founding member of renowned contemporary jazz quartet Fourplay, Nathan is one of the world’s most recorded session bassists. He’s also a firm favorite with Eric Clapton’s fans, having recorded and toured with the guitar legend many times since 1984 and will be out on the road with him this year when EC performs at Madison Square Garden, The Forum and the Royal Albert Hall. Nathan also has over 2,000 album credits to his name and several GRAMMY-winning songs including “Get Lucky,” “Footloose” and “Change the World.” He has performed with artists including Daft Punk, Lionel Richie, Michael Jackson, Whitney Houston and Beyonce. He received a GRAMMY nomination for Best Contemporary Instrumental Album for his self-titled solo debut NATHAN EAST on March 2014 which hit #1 on the Billboard Smooth Jazz Albums chart and held #1 for a record-breaking 36 weeks on

REVERENCE is available for pre-order at Amazon and iTunes.

Stay up-to-date with Nathan at

01. Love’s Holiday
02. Lifecycle
03. Elevenate
04. Serpentine Fire – featuring Eric Clapton, Phil Collins and Philip Bailey
05. Feels Like Home – featuring Yolanda Adams
06. Higher Ground
07. The Mood I’m In
08. Over The Rainbow – featuring Noah East
09. Shadow
10. Pasan
11. Why Not This Sunday
12. Until We Meet Again

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook