Eric Clapton’s Spring 2009 Tour Opens In Dublin, Ireland

On 11 May 2009, Eric Clapton and His Band kicked off the Spring Tour at the O2 in Dublin, Ireland. EC’s opening number was "Going Down Slow" followed by the surprising choice of "Anything For Your Love" from 1989’s Journeyman album. Included later in the two hour set were two more tracks from Journeyman: "Old Love" and "Before You Accuse Me." EC had some more suprises in store for the Dublin audience; namely a cover of Bob Dylan’s "Not Dark Yet," the blues "Anytime For You" (popularized by Big Maceo Merriweather), and a return of the standard, "Somewhere Over The Rainbow" for the first time since 2003. Audience favorites "I Shot The Sheriff," "Lay Down Sally," "Badge" and other Clapton classics were also performed during the two hour concert. One fan in attendance reported that "’Little Queen of Spades’ was EC’s song as he played four solos with Chris Stainton contributing one" and "’Before You Accuse Me’ was full-blast electric with Chris, Andy Fairweather Low, Tim Carmon and EC all soloing."

The Arc Angels will be opening for Eric Clapton on all dates of his Spring Tour.

Eric Clapton’s band for the Spring 2009 dates is:

Eric Clapton – guitar / vocals
Andy Fairweather Low – guitar
Chris Stainton – keyboards
Tim Carmon – keyboards
Willie Weeks – bass
Steve Gadd – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals

Eric Clapton’s Set List for Dublin, Ireland on 11 May 2009 was:

01. Going Down Slow
02. Anything For Your Love
03. Key To The Highway
04. Old Love
05. Hoochie Coochie Man
06. I Shot The Sheriff
07. Driftin’
08. Lay Down Sally
09. Not Dark Yet
10. Anytime For You
11. Somewhere Over The Rainbow
12. Badge
13. Little Queen of Spades
14. Before You Accuse Me
15. Wonderful Tonight
16. Layla
17. Cocaine
18. Crossroads (encore)

Eric and his band now move on to Liverpool, England for a concert on 13 May.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

If you’re heading to one or more of EC’s solo gigs this spring, why not send the details to Where’s Eric!? All of the information becomes part of the permanent tour archive. All set lists, reviews and photos should be emailed to

To participate, email the following concert details to
– Show date and venue name
– The complete set list (this information is essential to our ongoing archival work)
– Your review
– Feel free to include information about EC’s guitars, amps and effects pedals, if you know it
– Feel free to send images from the venue or of memorabilia things like tickets, handbills, programmes, posters or local concert advertising (the best ones may be even be published in Where’s Eric! Magazine)
– Be sure to Include your name and city so it can be featured with your review (no aliases or anonymous submissions, please.)

Due to space limitations, all reviews may not be used on, but we’ll do our best. When sending concert images, only submit those that you have personally taken. All reviews and set lists will be hosted in the Tour Section of

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook