Eric Clapton Wraps Up Tokyo Concerts: Budokan Night 7

Eric Clapton and His Band closed out a seven night residency at Tokyo’s Budokan with a slightly short of two-hours performance on 28 February 2009. The mix of songs drew heavily on EC’s back catalog and included a good number of blues standards. Amongst the evening’s strongest numbers were "Hoochie Coochie Man," "Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad" "Cocaine" and the perennial fan-favorite, "I Shot The Sheriff." EC’s solo acoustic number, "Driftin’" was also given high marks by those in attendance.

As the crowd exited the venue, Eric’s road crew were hard at work breaking down the stage and stowing all the gear so it could be shipped to Auckland, New Zealand for the next gig on the Winter Tour. That show happens 4 March.

A limited edition t-shirt celebrating EC’s 7 shows at the Budokan is on sale at EC’s official website, to fans worldwide. It was not available at the concerts. The limited edition tee, with customized Duck Records logo and all 2009 Budokan dates on the back, is only available from the website’s online store. Duck Records is EC’s custom imprint on Warner Brothers / Reprise. A limited edition print created by Firehouse to commemorate these shows is also on offer.

Set List:

01. Tell The Truth
02. Key To The Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. I Shot The Sheriff
05. Here But I’m Gone
06. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad
07. Driftin’ (EC Solo Blues)
08. Travelin’ Alone
09. That’s Alright
10. Motherless Child
11. Running On Faith
12. Motherless Children
13. Little Queen of Spades
14. Before You Accuse Me
15. Wonderful Tonight
16. Layla
17. Cocaine

18. Crossroads

EC Band:
Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Doyle Bramhall II – guitar, backing vocals
Chris Stainton – keyboards
Willie Weeks – bass
Abe Laboriel Jr. – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook