Eric Clapton & Steve Winwood: Another Amazing Night At London’s Wembley Arena

Legendary musicians Eric Clapton and Steve Winwood performed a second concert at London’s Wembley Arena on Friday 21 May. It was another excellent show according to early reports with EC playing his stratocaster like a man possessed and Winwood not far behind in the guitar solo department. One fan checking in shortly after the show ended told Where’s Eric, "Another stellar night with MONSTER guitar from EC. Again, Voodoo Chile is THE song of the night. Close following are The Shape I’m in, Presence of the Lord, Glad, Tough Luck Blues with a guitar intro remeniscent of Little Queen of Spades, Going Down, Georgia and Driftin’." The encore, "Dear Mr. Fantasy" left the London audience wanting more.

Although the tour is not billed as a reunion of their supergroup, Blind Faith, their set certainly plays homage to Blind Faith’s lone album, with the entire A side of it being performed in the two hours plus concert. The set list touches on Winwood’s time in Traffic, Spencer Davis Group and his solo career; Clapton’s ample back catalog along with the duo’s personal favourites like "Tough Luck Blues" (the B-side to Big Maceo’s 1941 single, "Worried Life Blues") and "Going Down" by Don Nix.

The next stop is the Sportspaleis in Antwerp on Sunday 23 May, followed by Bercy in Paris on Tueday 25 May. The tour wraps 13 June in Istanbul at the Turkcell Kurucesme Arena. There is no support act for the tour.

CLICK HERE to read fan reviews from Night Two at Wembley Arena

Eric Clapton & Steve Winwood Set List – 21 May 2010
Wembley Arena, London

01. Had To Cry Today
02. Low Down
03. After Midnight > Presence Of The Lord
04. The Shape I’m In
05. Glad > Well Alright
06. Tough Luck Blues
07. Pearly Queen
08. Forever Man
09. Midland Maniac
10. Going Down
11. Georgia
12. Drifting Blues
13. How Long
14. Layla
15. Can’t Find My Way Home
16. Split Decision
17. Voodoo Chile
18. Cocaine
19. Dear Mr. Fantasy (encore)

Band Lineup:
Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Steve Winwood – vocals, Hammond B3, guitar
Chris Stainton – keyboards
Willie Weeks – bass
Steve Gadd – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals

If you’re heading to one (or more!) of the Clapton / Winwood concerts this month, why not send the details to Where’s Eric!? All of the information becomes part of the permanent tour archive on this website. All set lists, reviews and photos should be emailed to

To participate, email the following concert details to
– Show date and venue name
– The complete set list (this information is essential to our ongoing archival work)
– Your review
– Feel free to include information about EC’s guitars, amps and effects pedals and Steve’s gear if you know it
– Feel free to send images from the concert or of memorabilia things like tickets, handbills, programmes, posters or local concert advertising (the best ones may be even be published in Where’s Eric! Magazine)
– Be sure to Include your name and city so it can be featured with your review (no aliases or anonymous submissions, please.)

Due to space limitations, all reviews may not be used on, but we’ll do our best. When sending concert images, only submit those that you have personally taken. All reviews and set lists will be hosted in the Tour Section of

Photos in this article courtesy of Paul Minkkinen / Coloured Rain – The Steve Winwood Fanzine

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook