Eric Clapton Rocks Tokyo! Budokan Night 1

After two gigs in Osaka, Eric Clapton & His Band headed north to Tokyo as the Winter Tour continued. The tour features a seven night residency at Tokyo’s famed Budokan Hall. The first show took place tonight in Japan – 15 February 2009. Shows at the venue will continue through 28 February.

The performance included gems from EC’s back catalog, including the radio mega-hit "Wonderful Tonight", and songs new to his live repetoire this tour like, "Travelin Alone" and "That’s Alright." Fans have reported that "I Shot The Sheriff’ is being performed differently than in the past. Backing vocalists Sharon White and Michelle John sing the first verse with EC joining in on later verses. The running order of the songs was modified a bit and "Isn’t It A Pity" was back in the set.

Like all weekend concerts in Japan, the show started promptly at 5PM!

A limited edition t-shirt celebrating EC’s 7 shows at the Budokan is on sale at EC’s official website, to fans worldwide. It is not available at the concerts. The limited edition tee, with customized Duck Records logo and all 2009 Budokan dates on the back, is only available from the website’s online store. Duck Records is EC’s custom imprint on Warner Brothers / Reprise. A special limited edition poster is also available from the online store.

Don’t forget to check the Tour Page on for fan reviews!

Set List:

01. Tell The Truth
02. Key To The Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. I Shot The Sheriff
05. Isn’t It A Pity
06. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad
07. Driftin’ (EC Solo Blues)
08. Travelin’ Alone
09. That’s Alright
10. Motherless Child
11. Running On Faith
12. Motherless Children
13. Little Queen of Spades
14. Before You Accuse Me
15. Wonderful Tonight
16. Layla
17. Cocaine

18. Crossroads

EC Band:
Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Doyle Bramhall II – guitar, backing vocals
Chris Stainton – keyboards
Willie Weeks – bass
Abe Laboriel Jr. – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook