Eric Clapton Rocks Dublin On Opening Night Of UK / Euro Tour

Less than a month after his wildly successful Crossroads Guitar Festival, Eric Clapton opened the second leg of his 50 Years Further Up The Road Tour in Dublin. Through 19 June, EC and His Band will visit 19 cities throughout the UK and Europe, including seven nights at London’s Royal Albert Hall. At The O2 on 9 May, EC kicked things off with “Hello Old Friend” and over the next 2 hours and 15 minutes, touched on his biggest hits, his love of the blues and some deep cuts. Eric debuted two songs in the live arena: “Come Rain Or Come Shine” (from 2000’s Riding With The King) and “Further On Down The Road” (from his most recent disc, Old Sock). “Blues Power” was back in the set list for the first time since the eighties. Fans have told Where’s Eric! it was one of the evening’s biggest highlights. Eric dedicated the show to his friend, Martin, who was celebrating a birthday.

Leighton S. summed it up succinctly: “What a concert last night by Eric and his great band – there were too many highlights to mention in this two hour plus show. Great solos all night  – nice changes to the set from US shows as well – we got 3 tour debuts – 2 of them were never played before live ( Come rain or shine , further on down the road, and a hidden gem from EC’s past in Blues Power. Fantastic show!! Like the U.S. Tour, the show concluded with a rousing “High Time We Went”.

Jim W. wrote, “Just back from The O2 Dublin show. it was my birthday so I chose this show as a special treat and it was. Too any highlights to mention but have to mention ‘Come Rain Or Come Shine’ with Eric duetting beautifully with both Paul on vocals and Doyle on guitar. He played ‘Further On Down The Road’ from the new album and a highlight for me, ‘Blues Power’.”

Support was Andy Fairweather Low and The Low Riders.

WHERE’S ERIC NEEDS YOU! If you’re going to one of the upcoming shows, participate in the Where’s Eric! Tour Archive Project by sending the set list, your review and / or photos to After all, WE! couldn’t do it without you! Want to check out the details from previous shows or see what’s next on EC’s agenda? Visit the Eric Clapton Tour Archive.

9 May 2013 Set List – Eric Clapton & His Band
The O2 – Dublin

01. Hello Old Friend 
02. My Fathers Eyes 
03. Tell The Truth
04. Gotta Get Over
05. Black Cat Bone
06. Got To Get Better
07. Come Rain Or Come Shine
08. Badge
09. Driftin’
10. Furrher On Down The Road 
11. Layla
12. Stones In My Passway
13. It Ain’t Easy (Paul Carrack – vocals)
14. Lay Down Sally
15. Wonderful Tonight
16. Blues Power 
17. Love In Vain
18. Crossroads
19. Little Queen Of Spades
20. Cocaine
21. Sunshine Of Your Love
22. High Time We Went

Find daily facts about Eric Clapton’s career. Click on the red arrow at upper right on every page of 

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook