Eric Clapton Rocks Basel’s Baloise Sessions

Eric Clapton and His Band are wrapping up their 2013 concerts this week with two shows in Basel, Switzerland. The shows are part of the “Baloise Sessions” indoor concert series and happen at the Event Halle in Basel. In front of 1500 people, Eric and his band peformed a 20 song set on 13 November , including five songs in memory of JJ Cale: “Don’t Go To Strangers” (the opening number), “Since You Said Goodbye,” After Midnight,” “Call Me The Breeze” and “Cocaine.” “After Midnight,” rarely seen in a Clapton set list, was performed in the style of JJ Cale, rather than the way it has been recorded in the studio by Eric (in 1970 and 1987).

The seated acoustic portion of the evening was limited to four songs, a bit shorter than the May / June concerts. The acoustic songs at this concert were “Driftin’,” “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out,” “Goodnight Irene,” and “Layla”.

Two concertgoers have already reported in to Where’s Eric! (eventhough it is nearly the middle of the night now in Switzerland). Here’s what they had to say: 

Kornel R:
I have just returned from tonight’s show in Basel. It was my 18th EC gig and definitely one that stands out. The venue was small (1500 people), almost like a club. Crisp sound. And I was very close to the stage. The setlist was quite surprising and contained many JJ Cale songs. Key To The Highway, Since You Said Goodbye, After Midnight (new version) and Pretending were my favorites.

Heidi W:
What a fantastic show! Thoroughly enjoyed it. Several songs were in memory of JJ Cale and After Midnight was therefore rendered as JJ Cale used to play it. So emotional.

If you were at the gig (or are going to Thursday’s concert) and want to share your review or photos with Clapton fans around the world, send them to for posting in the Eric Clapton Tour Archive

Eric Clapton & His Band – 13 November 2013
Baloise Session – Event Halle, Basel, Switzerland

01. Don’t Go To Strangers
02. Knock On Wood
03. Key To The Highway
04. Hoochie Coochie Man
05. Got My Mojo Working
06. Since You Said Goodbye
07. After Midnight
08. Call Me The Breeze
09. Gin House
10. How Long (Paul Carrack – vocals)
11. Driftin’
12. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
13. Goodnight Irene
14. Layla
15. Pretending
16. Wonderful Tonight
17. Crossroads
18. Little Queen Of Spades
19. Cocaine
20. High Time We Went (Paul Carrack – vocals)

The Band:
Eric Clapton – Guitar / Vocals
Andy Fairweather Low – Guitar / Vocals
Chris Stainton – Keyboards
Paul Carrack – Keyboards / Vocals
Dave Bronze – Bass
Henry Spinetti – Drums
Michelle John – Backing Vocals
Sharon White – Backing Vocals

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook