Eric Clapton Returns To Argentina And Dazzles 45,000

After a ten year absence, Eric Clapton returned to Argentina for a concert at River Plate Stadium in Buenos Aires on 14 October. Argentinian newspaper Vos reported, "[Clapton] dazzled with a fine repertoire of blues and peppered with his classics." Taking the stage close to 10PM, EC’s 16 song set list included "I Shot The Sheriff", which had been missing from the set list since the first night in Rio de Janeiro. El Diario reported that "Hoochie Coochie Man", "Old Love" and "Layla" were the set’s highlights. Concert attendance was 45,000.

Guasones (Celedon Damian, Stephen Monti, Facundo Soto, Ferdinand and Maximilian Timczyszyn Muto), one of the most popular rock bands in Argentina, opened.

Eric, his band and crew now move on to Santiago, Chile for the final concert of the South American Tour on 16 October.

Eric Clapton & His Band: Set List – 14 October 2011
River Plate Stadium (aka Estadio Monumental de Nuñez), Buenos Aires (AR)

01. Key To The Highway
02. Going Down Slow
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. Old Love
05. I Shot The Sheriff
06. Driftin’
07. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
08. Lay Down Sally
09. When Somebody Thinks You’re Wonderful
10. Layla
11. Badge
12. Wonderful Tonight
13. Before You Accuse Me
14. Little Queen Of Spades
15. Cocaine
16. Crossroads (encore)

Band Lineup – 2011 South American Tour
Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Chris Stainton – keyboards
Tim Carmon – keyboards 
Willie Weeks – bass
Steve Gadd – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals 
Sharon White – backing vocals

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook