Eric Clapton: RAH 2019 Night One

Watch Eric’s take on “Purple Rain”! Video at bottom of article.

Eric Clapton began a three-night run of shows at the Royal Albert Hall on Monday, May 13 and it went down a storm with the sold-out audience.

The concert opened with a hastily rehearsed “Que Será, Será,” in tribute to Doris Day, who died earlier in the day at age 97. It was followed by the planned opening number, “Motherless Children.” And the surprises kept coming. Many numbers had fresh arrangements like “I Shot The Sheriff,” which featured a bass solo intro by Nathan East and a lovely finger picking and octave harmonics solo from Eric. Fan favorites like “Five Long Years,” “Change The World” and “Holy Mother” also found a place in the night’s set. “Running On Faith” featured a great slide solo from Doyle Bramhall II while Katie Kissoon reprised Tina Turner’s part on “Tearing Us Apart.”

Then, deep in the set there was a monumental electric “Layla” that had the audience signing along to the chorus. 

But, Eric had one more surprise up his sleeve. The encore was a high-energy take on Prince’s “Purple Rain” that had the crowd on their feet and signing at the top of their lungs. 

EC and band are back at the venue Wednesday and Thursday evenings with Jimmie Vaughan and The Tilt-A-Whirl Band opening. The shows are sold-out. 

May 13, 2019 Set List:
01. Que Será, Será
02. Motherless Children
03. Key To The Highway
04. Pretending
05. Hoochie Coochie Man
06. I Shot The Sheriff
07. Driftin’
08. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
09. Tears In Heaven
10. Change The World
11. Running On Faith
12. Tearing Us Apart
13. Holy Mother
14. Crossroads
15. Five Long Years
16. Layla
17. Purple Rain (encore)

Band Lineup:
Eric Clapton – guitar / vocals
Nathan East – bass / vocals
Sonny Emory – drums
Doyle Bramhall – guitar / vocals
Chris Stainton – keyboards
Paul Carrack – organ / keyboards / vocals
Katie Kissoon – vocals
Sharon White – vocals

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook