Eric Clapton Opens European Tour In Norway

After a few weeks break in July, Eric Clapton’s 2008 Summer Tour picked back up with a sold out concert at The Koengen in Bergen, Norway on 6 August 2008. The European Leg, consisting of 11 dates, ends on 23 August in Monte-Carlo. This is the third and final leg of the Summer Tour which launched on 3 May in Tampa Bay, Florida. Dates in the U.S., Canada, Ireland and England happened in May and June.

Typical of a "first show" after a break in touring, Eric and the band held a sound-check earlier in the day. They ran through "Here But I’m Gone," "Isn’t It A Pity," "Outside Woman Blues," and "Driftin’." "Driftin’" was rehearsed by Eric alone on acoustic guitar. "Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out" was run through twice – first as an electric shuffle and then as an acoustic number.

Following an opening set by Grande, a popular Norwegian blues-band, Eric hit the stage at 8:30PM. As the show began, the sky turned black and it started to rain heavily. But, it stopped as quickly as it started and didn’t rain again during the outdoor concert.

Eric opened the show with "Tell The Truth". In addition to the songs performed during sound check, the audience was treated to fan-favorites like "Before You Accuse Me", "Runinng On Faith" and "Key To The Highway" as well as a cover version of George Harrison’s "Isn’t It A Pity" which featured a great solo from EC. During the show, "Nobody Knows You" was performed by the full band, with EC on acoustic guitar. Highlights were the classic blues "Hoochie Coochie Man," "Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad," (from Eric’s days with Derek & The Dominos) and "Motherless Children" from his 1974 album, "461 Ocean Boulevard." Chart blockbusters "Wonderful Tonight," "Layla" and "Cocaine" closed the main part of the show.

Despite the lay-off, the band sounded tight and all were in a great mood, witnessed by the smiles and laughter on stage. Eric and the band played for two hours.

Although the set list was similar to the concerts performed in Ireland and England in June, "Rockin’ Chair" was dropped from the show and "Crossroads" was once again featured as the encore number, as it was on select dates earlier in the tour. Also, unlike the earlier dates, "Driftin’" was performed with the full-band, rather than EC alone with his acoustic guitar.

On stage with Eric were Doyle Bramhall II (guitars / backing vocals), Willie Weeks (bass), Abe Laboriel Jr (drums), Chris Stainton (keyboards), Sharon White (backing vocals) and Michelle John (backing vocals).

The band and crew now move on to Iceland for a gig on 8 August in Reykjavic.

Eric Clapton Concert Set List for 6 August 2008:

01. Tell The Truth
02. Key To The Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. Isn’t It A Pity
05. Outside Woman Blues
06. Here But I’m Gone
07. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad
08. Driftin’ (acoustic / entire band)
09. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out (acoustic / entire band)
10. Motherless Child
11. Travelling Riverside Blues
12. Running On Faith
13. Motherless Children
14. Little Queen Of Spades
15. Before You Accuse Me
16. Wonderful Tonight
17. Layla
18. Cocaine

19. Crossroads

Eric Clapton Sound Check Songs On 6 August 2008:

01. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out (electric shuffle – full band)
02. Here But I’m Gone (full band)
03. Isn’t It A Pity (full band)
04. Outside Woman Blues (full band)
05. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out (acoustic – full band)
06. Drifting Blues (acoustic – full band)

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook