Eric Clapton Opens 2013 Tour In Phoenix

Eric Clapton kicked off his 50th Anniversary Tour in Phoenix at the U.S. Airways Center on 14 March. Eric’s set featured favorites, songs from his just released album, Old Sock, deep cuts and plenty of blues. The 22 song set list featured Hello Old Friend, Got To Get Better, Goodnight Irene, Black Cat Bone, Stones In My Passway, and Love In Vain. My Father’s Eyes, Tears In Heaven and Sunshine Of Your Love were welcomed back. Of course, the set included gems like I Shot The Sheriff, Layla, Crossroads and others. (Complete set list at bottom of article).

Scott from Albuquerque checked in right after the gig: “What an amazing show. These guys are so tight it was just … WOW. I have seen a lot of live shows over a 35 year span (I used to work concert security, promotions and attend shows) and I had never seen Clapton live but this is by far the most professional tight group of musicians I have ever seen. 5 Stars! The man says he will quit touring when he turns 70…time is a waste’n….go see him you’ll be glad you did. The guy is a legend!” You can read his full review in the 2013 tour section of this site.

Those in attendance also noticed that Wonderful Tonight has been moved to the middle seated portion of the set but no one has yet mentioned if it was performed “unplugged”!

EC’s band for this tour is:  Doyle Bramhall II (guitar), Willie Weeks (bass), Greg Leisz (pedal steel guitar), Chris Stainton (piano & keyboards), Paul Carrack (organ, keyboards & vocals), Steve Jordan (drums), Michelle John (backing vocals) and Sharon White (backing vocals).

The Wallflowers opened.

EC, band and crew now move on to Houston, Texas for a show on 16 March, followed by Austin, Dallas and 12 more U.S. Cities. Following the conclusion of the US Tour in Pittsburgh on 6 April, there will be a few days break before EC’s Crossroads Guitar Festival takes over Madison Square Garden for two nights on 12 and 13 April.

Eric Clapton & His Band: Phoenix
14 March 2013 Set List

01. Hello Old Friend
02. My Father’s Eyes
03. Tell The Truth
04. Got To Get Over
05. Black Cat Bone
06. Got To Get Better
07. Tempted (Paul Carrack)
08. I Shot The Sheriff
09. Driftin’
10. Nobody Knows You
11. Tears In Heaven
12. Goodnight Irene
13. Wonderful Tonight
14. How Long (Paul Carrack)
15. Stones In My Passway
16. Love In Vain
17. Crossroads
18. Little Queen of Spades
19. Cocaine
20. Layla
21. Sunshine Of Your Love
22. High Time

Fan reviews will be posted in the Tour Section of this site, along with set lists, as the tour continues. If you’re heading to a show, send your review to

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook