Eric Clapton At Mohegan Sun Arena

Eric Clapton and His Band visited the 10,000 seat Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Connecticut on Monday, 2 June 2008. Over the course of two hours, the band turned in a killer performance according to early reports from the venue. The 19 songs, focused heavily on Eric’s blues roots, rather than his more radio-friendly material.

During the show, Eric dedicated "Before You Accuse Me" to Bo Diddley who died earlier today (2 June 2008).

Helped by a great sound system in a new-ish arena, it was easy to hear some of the more subtle touches by all of the musicians in this indoor arena. Fans commented that Doyle Bramhall II and Chris Stainton both stood out, adding lovely fills and dynamic solos during several songs. Kudos also to "The BVs" – Michelle John and Sharon White – for their gorgeous backing vocals.

Eric opened the 9th concert of his summer tour with "Tell The Truth". Classic songs like "Motherless Children" (from the album 461 Ocean Boulevard), "Layla", and "Cocaine" were big crowd-pleasers, along with the ever-popular, "Wonderful Tonight." Early reports from the venue indicate that evening’s stand-outs, filled with blistering solos by Eric and Doyle, were "Tell The Truth", "Little Queen Of Spades" and "I’ve Got My Mojo Working" with Robert Randolph. Robert pushed EC to extend solo three times longer than usual.

Entirely deserving of mention is the "sit down set," which takes place at the midpoint of the show. Eric opens this portion of the concert alone on-stage armed only with his acoustic guitar for "Driftin’." The band then rejoined him for Hoagy Carmichael’s "Rocking Chair", followed by "Motherless Child," "Travelling Riverside Blues" and "Running on Faith" (from 1989’s "Journeyman").

2 June 2008 Set List / Mohegan Sun Arena

01. Tell The Truth
02. Key To The Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. Little Wing
05. Outside Woman Blues
06. Double Trouble
07. Don’t Knock My Love
08. Drifting
09. Rockin’ Chair
10. Motherless Child
11. Travelling Riverside Blues
12. Running On Faith
13. Motherless Children
14. Little Queen of Spades
15. Before You Accuse Me
16. Wonderful Tonight
17. Layla
18. Cocaine

19. I’ve Got My Mojo Working (with Robert Randolph)

Next on Eric’s schedule is the Tweeter Center in Massachusetts on 4 June. The U.S. / Canada leg of the summer tour wraps Thursday, 5 June in Wantagh, New York.

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook