Eric Clapton Kicks Off Tokyo Residency. Ed Sheeran Sits In For 3 Songs!

What a first night at the Nippon Budokan for Eric Clapton & His Band! Eric kicked off his 5 night run at the venue with a concert that wowed the sold-out audience. The set list was a mix of blues, his worldwide hits, back-catalog gems and several songs from his forthcoming album, I Still Do

In the second half of the show, Eric welcomed 25 year old pop phenom, Ed Sheeran to the stage. They performed two songs from EC’s new record (“I Will Be There” and “Cypress Grove”) plus “Sunshine State. The latter also featured EC Band newcomer, Dirk Powell. These numbers also saw EC break out some new guitars. During “Cypress Grove”, he used a Martin Guitar / Ed Sheeran signature model and a Gretsch during “Sunshine State”.

Also part of the set was a jaw-dropping “Gin House” with vocals by Andy Fairweather Low and solo by EC. First performed by Andy during his Amen Corner days, it’s been a high point whenever it’s in EC’s set.  “Crossroads” featured a slide solo from Eric, while the main set closer “Cocaine” featured a wah-wah solo.

Eric, the band and crew have more shows to go at the Budokan on 15, 16, 18 and 19 April. These are the only concerts scheduled for 2016.

Were you at the show? What did you think of it? Share your opnion with fans around the world! Send your review to where it will be published in the Eric Clapton Tour Archive for this date. Photos welcome too!

Eric Clapton & His Band
13 April 2016 Set List
Nippon Budokan, Tokyo Night 1

01. Somebody’s Knockin’ *
02. Key To The Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. Next Time You See Me
05. I Shot The Sheriff
06. Circus Left Town
07. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
08. I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine *
09. I Will Be There * – with special guest Ed Sheeran
10. Cypress Grove * – with special guest Ed Sheeran
11. Sunshine State – with special guest Ed Sheeran
12. Gin House
13. Wonderful Tonight
14. Crossroads
15. Little Queen Of Spades
16. Cocaine
17. High Time We Went (encore)

* From EC’s forthcoming album, I Still Do. Available 20 May. Click to pre-order


The Band:
Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Andy Fairweather Low – guitar, vocals
Chris Stainton – piano, keyboards
Paul Carrack – organ, keyboards, vocals
Dave Bronze – bass
Henry Spinetti – drums
Dirk Powell – multi-instrumentalist
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals
Special Guest:  Ed Sheeran – guitar, vocals 


Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook