Eric Clapton & His Band: Night Ten At The Royal Albert Hall

The tenth night of Eric Clapton’s 11-night residency on 29 May at "The Albert" immediately hit top gear with the opener "Going Down Slow" and stayed there until the closing notes of the encore, "Crossroads." Doyle Bramhall II of the Arc Angels once again joined the band for the final three numbers.

As with previous evenings on the tour, the set also included performances of "Badge" "Lay Down Sally," "Before You Accuse Me" and "Got To Get Better In A Little While" which featured a funky bass solo from Willie Weeks and terrific harmonies from "The BVs" – Sharon White and Michelle John. "Three Little Girls" – from the Eric Clapton / JJ Cale CD, "Road To Escondido" made it’s second appearance of the tour in the "sit down set".

Fans outside the venue noted that Andy Fairweather Low’s contributions during "Somewhere Over The Rainbow" were quite jazzy and truly made that number a stand out. Chris Stainton again garnered the sell-out audience’s approval for his outstanding solos during "Little Queen of Spades" and "Cocaine." Chatting after the show, fans also noted that Eric was attacking the fretboard delivering powerful solos throughout the night.

Eric Clapton’s 11-night residency ends this Sunday 31 May. The Arc Angels open.

Set List for 29 May 2009 / Royal Albert Hall

01. Going Down Slow
02. Key To The Highway
03. Anything For Your Love
04. Old Love
05. Got To Get Better In A Little While
06. Driftin’
07. Three Little Girls
08. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
09. Lay Down Sally
10. Somewhere Over The Rainbow
11. Badge
12. Before You Accuse Me
13. Little Queen of Spades
14. Wonderful Tonight
15. Layla*
16. Cocaine *

17. Crossroads *

Band Lineup:
Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Andy Fairweather Low – guitar
Chris Stainton – keyboards
Tim Carmon – keyboards
Willie Weeks – bass
Steve Gadd – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

If you’re heading to one or more of EC’s solo gigs this spring, why not send the details to Where’s Eric!? All of the information becomes part of the permanent tour archive. All set lists, reviews and photos should be emailed to

To participate, email the following concert details to
– Show date and venue name
– The complete set list (this information is essential to our ongoing archival work)
– Your review
– Feel free to include information about EC’s guitars, amps and effects pedals, if you know it
– Feel free to send images from the venue or of memorabilia things like tickets, handbills, programmes, posters or local concert advertising (the best ones may be even be published in Where’s Eric! Magazine)
– Be sure to Include your name and city so it can be featured with your review (no aliases or anonymous submissions, please.)

Due to space limitations, all reviews may not be used on, but we’ll do our best. When sending concert images, only submit those that you have personally taken. All reviews and set lists will be hosted in the Tour Secton of
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Related links:

Eric’s support for this tour – The Arc Angels – will be headlining their own club gig tomorrow (Saturday 30 May) at Bush Hall. For more about the band, visit Arc Angels on My Space. For ticket information, visit Bush Hall’s Website

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook