Eric Clapton: Fifth Night at Royal Albert Hall – 22 May 2009

On 22 May 2009, Eric Clapton continued his 11-show residency at the Royal Albert Hall with show number five. Early reports from the venue indicate it was a phenomenal gig with EC tearing through old favourites and newer material, like "Three Little Girls". This show marked the first public performance of that song which appeared on Eric’s album with J.J. Cale, "Road To Escondido." Three songs from 1989’s "Journeyman" were featured "Old Love", "Anything For Your Love" and "Before You Accuse Me." Highlights from the 17-song set included the opener, "Going Down Slow," "I Shot The Sheriff," "Layla", "Not Dark Yet," and "Badge." The show ended with a powerful performance of "Crossroads."

Check the Tour Section of for more reviews and set lists from every night of the tour. New reviews are added as they arrive.

Show number six at the Royal Albert Hall happens Saturday 23 May 2009. The Arc Angels open.

Set List for 22 May 2009 / Royal Albert Hall

01. Going Down Slow
02. Key To The Highway
03. Old Love
04. Anything For Your Love
05. I Shot The Sheriff
06. Three Little Girls
07. Layla – acoustic
08. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
09. Not Dark Yet
10. Anytime For You
11. Somewhere Over The Rainbow
12. Badge
13. Little Queen of Spades
14. Before You Accuse Me
15. Wonderful Tonight
16. Cocaine
17. Crossroads (encore)

Band Lineup:
Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Andy Fairweather Low – guitar
Chris Stainton – keyboards
Tim Carmon – keyboards
Willie Weeks – bass
Steve Gadd – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook