Eric Clapton Featured On New Sam Moore CD “Overnight Sensational”

Rhino Records is set to release a new CD from soul legend, Sam Moore on 29 August 2006. Entitled “Overnight Sensational” it features artists that run the gammut from Eric Clapton, Jon Bon Jovi, Steve Winwood and Vince Gill to Bekka Bramlett, Wynonna, Sheila E. and Fantasia. The late Billy Preston is featured on two tracks which now serve as his final recorded legacy.

As one-half of the recording duo Sam and Dave, Moore and David Prater recorded such classics as “You Don’t Know Like I Know”, “Hold On I’m Comin'”, “Soul Man” and “I Thank You” in the 60s. On these recordings, they were backed by Booker T. and the MGs. The duo split up in 1970 and then reunited several times through 1981. Sam Moore has continued to tour and record. “Overnight Sensational” is Moore’s first contemporary solo project. Although 2002 saw the release of “Plenty Good Lovin’,” it was shelved for more than three decades after having been sheduled for release in 1970.

Eric Clapton appears on the track “You Are So Beautiful” along with Robert Randolph, Zucchero and Billy Preston. Clapton has previously performed and recorded songs initially made famous by Sam and Dave such as “Hold On I’m Comin'” from “Riding With The King” (2000).

“Overnight Sensational” was produced by Randy Jackson, perhaps best known today as one of the judges on “American Idol.” Jackson is an accomplished musician having toured, recorded with or produced albums by artists as diverse as Journey, Clarence Gatemouth Brown, Bob Dylan, Mariah Carey, N’Sync, Bruce Springsteen, Blue Oyster Cult, Carlos Santana, Jerry Garcia and Zucchero.

Track List:
I Can’t Stand the Rain (featuring Wynonna, Bekka Bramlett, Billy Preston and Bebe Winans)
Better To Have and Not Need (featuring Bruce Springsteen)
Blame It on the Rain (featuring Fantasia)
Lookin’ for a Love featuring (Jon Bon Jovi)
Ain’t No Love featuring (Steve Winwood)
None of Us Are Free (featuring Sting and Sheila E)
It’s Only Make Believe (featuring Mariah Carey and Vince Gill)
Don’t Play That Song (You Lied) (featuring Bekka Bramlett)
If I Had No Loot (featuring Van Hunt, Nikka Costa and Billy F. Gibbons)
Riding Thumb featuring (Travis Tritt and Robert Randolph)
We Shall Be Free (featuring Paul Rodgers)
You Are So Beautiful (featuring Eric Clapton, Billy Preston, Zucchero and Robert Randolph)

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook