Eric Clapton Deluxe Edition To Be Released 23 May

The long-awaited deluxe edition of Eric Clapton’s self-titled 1970 album will be released on 23 May 2006. The upcoming two-disc set has Tom Dowd’s original mix on disc one. Disc two is a previously unreleased mix by Delaney Bramlett. Both discs contain bonus material.

Where’s Eric! first brought you the news back in February, along with a complete track listing.

PRESS RELEASE from UM3 / Polydor : June 2006 (catalogue number: 983 960-7)

Landmark debut remastered and expanded with never-before-released alternative mix of the album, session outtakes and related singles recordings.

By the time Eric Clapton released his solo debut in August 1970 the guitarist had already enjoyed success with The Yardbirds, John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers, Cream and Blind Faith. Stepping out by himself with his first album, Clapton proved himself to be a laidback and genuinely well-rounded recording artist blending rock, country, r&b and gospel into a unique sound. It was to be the beginning of a phenomenal solo career which has made Clapton an international star: a 17-time Grammy winner, Clapton has achieved 13 Top Ten Albums in the UK alone, as well as 5 UK Top Ten singles.

This new Deluxe Edition provides an in-depth exploration of Clapton’s landmark debut with some extraordinary unreleased material. Tom Dowd’s original mix of the album appears in a remastered version, alongside session outtakes and related recordings. Clapton enthusiasts will be delighted by Disc Two which – for the first time ever – makes available the second alternate mix of the album by Delaney Bramlett, said by some to be even better than the original. Also available for the first time are previously unreleased studio takes of favourites ‘Don’t Know Why’ and ‘I’ve Told You For The Last Time’. Added too are singles ‘Comin’ Home’ and ‘Groupie (Superstar)’ both from Delaney & Bonnie Bramlett and Friends featuring Eric Clapton.

‘Eric Clapton’ features the artists he had recently toured with, notably Delaney Bramlett (who co-wrote most of the album) and Bonnie Bramlett and Friends including keboardist Bobby Whitlock, bassist Carl Radle, drummer Jim Gordon, percussionist Tex Johnson, backup singer Rita Coolidge and horn players Jim Price and Bobby Keys as well as Leon Russell. On its release the album reached Number 17 in the UK Charts, and achieved a US Top 20 with his cover of J.J. Cale’s ‘After Midnight’.

Disc One
01.  Slunky 3.33
02.  Bad Boy 3.33
03.  Lonesome And a Long Way From Home 3.29
04.  After Midnight 2.51
05.  Easy Now 2.57
06.  Blues Power 3.08
07.  Bottle of Red Wine 3.06
08.  Lovin’ You Lovin’ Me 3.19
09.   I’ve Told You For The Last Time 2.30
10.  Don’t Know Why 3.10
11.  Let It Rain 5.02
12.  Blues in ‘A’ 10.25 session outtake (Bonus Track)
13.  Teasin’ 2.14 Performed by KING CURTIS with DELANEY BRAMLETT, E.C. & FRIENDS (Bonus Track)
14.  She Rides 5.08 previously unreleased LET IT RAIN alternate version (Bonus Track)

Disc Two – Alternate Mix 

01.  Slunky 3.33
02.  Bad Boy 3.41
03.  Easy Now 2.57
04.  After Midnight 3.17
05.  Blues Power 3.19
06.  Bottle of Red Wine 3.06
07.  Lovin’ You Lovin’ Me 4.03
08.  Lonesome And a Long Way From Home 3.48
09.  Don’t Know Why 3.43
10.  Let It Rain 5.03

11.  Don’t Know Why 5.12 previously unreleased Olympic Studios version (Bonus Track)
12.  I’ve Told You For The Last Time 6.46 previously unreleased Olympic Studios version (Bonus Track)
13.  Comin’ Home 3.14 Performed by DELANEY & BONNIE and FRIENDS featuring E.C. (Bonus Track)
14.  Groupie (Superstar) 2.48 Performed by DELANEY & BONNIE and FRIENDS featuring ERIC CLAPTON (Bonus Track)

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook