Eric Clapton Closes Baloise Sessions. 1 Hour To Be Aired On Swiss Radio Next Week.

Eric Clapton and His Band closed out the 2013 Baloise Sessions in Basel, Switzerland on Thursday, 14 November. It has been announced that one hour from this performance will be aired on Swiss radio SRF3 on Monday 18 November 2013 at 21:00.

EC tweaked the set list from the previous evening, dropping “Knock On Wood” and “Goodnight Irene” but attacking and lengthening his solos on the other songs. Like the previous evening, the 1500 strong crowd was treated to five songs in memory of JJ Cale – “Don’t Go To Strangers” (the opening number), “Since You Said Goodbye,” After Midnight,” “Call Me The Breeze” and “Cocaine.”

Several Clapton enthusiasts have checked in with Where’s Eric! Here’s what they had to say about the gig:

George V.
I have seen Eric on stage 12 times and it’s in my opinion the best band he ever had. With Andy Fairweather Low at his side, Eric is at his best and on fire. I had an old buddy with me and it was his first Clapton concert. He said, “I was sure that it would be a good concert, but SO good never, defintively on the top 3 of the concerts I have seen.”Highlights were Pretending, Little Queen of Spades and Crossroads. The concert would have been great for a live DVD.

Andy S.
Eric played really enthusiastic. What a solo in “Gin House”, best version I ever heard!

Alain D.
I completely crossed France from West to East to reach Basel for my 7th EC concert.Well, it was well worth the trip. Eric was definitively here right from the beginning, playing numerous stunning solos, and he was not alone: Muddy Waters, JJ Cale, and Robert Johnson must have been somewhere around, inhabiting Eric.

Tonight was Strat-osph-Eric! It was the best show that I have ever seen, together with the EC-Steve Winwood concert at Bercy, France, in 2010. The whole concert was incredible. The highlights tonight were to my opinion: Key to the Highway, Hoochie Cochie Man, Got my mojo working, After Midnight, Call me the breeze, Andy Fairweather Low’s Gin house, Paul Carrack’s How long, the short but excellent acoustic set (Driftin’, Nobody knows you, Layla), a rather heavy Pretending which I did not ear live since 2006, a fantastic Crossroads version, and the cream of the cream: Little Queen of Spades that outcompeted the 2013 RAH version (I thought it was impossible to play it better, well he just did). LQS was so good
tonight that I had tears coming in my eyes!

The concert then wrapped up with Cocaine and High time we went as the only encore song. My only slight criticism is that the concert was quite short (1h45, Knock on wood and Goodnight Irene were not played tonight and not replaced by other songs), I was expecting as least one more song (Further on up the road would have been a perfect ending), but it was largely compensated by the incredible intensity of the whole show.

If you were at either of the Baloise Session gigs and want to share your review or photos with Clapton fans around the world, its not too late. Send them to for posting in the Eric Clapton Tour Archive.

Eric Clapton & His Band – 14 November 2013
Baloise Session – Event Halle, Basel, Switzerland

01. Don’t Go To Strangers
02. Key To The Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. Got My Mojo Working
05. Since You Said Goodbye
06. After Midnight
07. Call Me The Breeze
08. Gin House (Andy Fairweather Low – vocals)
09. How Long (Paul Carrack – vocals)
10. Driftin’
11. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
12. Layla
13. Pretending
14. Wonderful Tonight
15. Crossroads
16. Little Queen Of Spades
17. Cocaine
18. High Time We Went (Paul Carrack – vocals)

The Band:
Eric Clapton – Guitar / Vocals
Andy Fairweather Low – Guitar / Vocals
Chris Stainton – Keyboards
Paul Carrack – Keyboards / Vocals
Dave Bronze – Bass
Henry Spinetti – Drums
Michelle John – Backing Vocals
Sharon White – Backing Vocals 

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook