Eric Clapton – Berlin Concert Details

Eric Clapton and his band returned to Berlin, Germany on Friday 15 August 2008 for a two hour performance at the Waldbuhne, an outdoor venue. In Berlin, it had been raining throughout the day and the show was no exception with heavy rain throughout.

One fan reported in that it was so damp, you could see the breath coming from EC’s mouth as he sang. Another commented that it was a joy to watch Abe Laboriel Jr. on drums. Not only has he formed a tight rhythm section with bassist Willie Weeks, but he does so much … little off beats, fills, double-ups.

During Hoochie Coochie Man, Chris Stainton’s keyboard solo really challenged EC and he responded in kind, making the song one of the evening’s highlights.There was great extended interplay between EC and Doyle Bramhall II during Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad. Little Queen of Spades was played a bit slower than previous nights, with wondeful "waterfall" like effects in Chris’ solo. Towards the end of Chris’ solo, Abe and Willie put a little jazz / swing tempo in making it absolutely top notch. An "eleven out of ten" according to some in the audience. But the big surprise of the night was the addition of Rock Me Baby during the acoustic set

The concert started at 8:08PM and ended at 10:10PM.

Complete Set List / 15 August 2008:

01. Tell The Truth
02. Key To The Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. Here But I’m Gone
05. Outside Woman Blues
06. Isn’t It A Pity
07. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad
08. Rock Me Baby
09. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
10. Motherless Child
11. Travelling Riverside Blues
12. Running On Faith
13. Motherless Children
14. Little Queen of Spades
15. Before You Accuse Me
16. Wonderful Tonight
17. Layla
18. Cocaine

19. Crossroads

Support for this gig was Jakob Dylan, who is on his first solo tour.

Eric Clapton’s next stop on his Summer Tour is Munchen on 17 August 2008.

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook