Enter To Win The Derek Trucks Band New CD “Already Free” From Where’s Eric!

This contest has ended and the winners have been notified.

Here’s another exciting online contest from Where’s Eric!. Where’s Eric! has been provided with several copies of the new album from The Derek Trucks Band, "Already Free". They’ll be given away in an exclusive online contest here on The contest runs through 14 February 2009. Entry details can be found below.

"Already Free" (RCA Victor) hit store shelves on 13 January 2009 on CD and vinyl. It’s also available as a digital download from internet shops.

Self-produced by Trucks in his home studio in Florida, it represents the band’s natural evolution as they move forward integrating influences that span a variety of musical genres. Known for their blues roots, the group takes this album well beyond blues to incorporate the largers sounds of rock and soul.

Trucks said that, "this album was completely organic. We had no expectations. We just came down and started writing. Then one thing led to the next. I had all this time off so I just started calling up friends. And once the process started rolling and once we realized that we were onto something, we were writing tunes and all the sounds we were getting were amazing and it was starting to feel great. It felt like something was happening and we wanted to keep throwing musicians on the fire." The band was joined by pals like Doyle Bramhall II, Oteil Burbridge and Trucks’ wife, Susan Tedeschi in the studio. Bramhall takes over vocal duties on two songs, "Maybe This Time" and "Our Love."

The winners in the online contest will be selected in a random draw. The only requirement? You must be registered to receive FREE email alerts from Where’s Eric! You don’t receive our email alerts? Not a problem! Simply fill out the short registration form before you enter the contest! Once you’ve registered for the alerts, you’ll receive an occasional email from Where’s Eric! updating you with the latest and most-accurate Eric Clapton news including concert announcements.

If you already receive our email alerts, there is no need to re-register … just follow the directions below to enter the contest.



Step One
Already get our email alerts … go right to Step 2. If you are not registered to receive free email alerts from Where’s Eric!, CLICK HERE to register. Contest is open only to those individuals who are registered to receive the free Eric Clapton News Alerts from Where’s Eric! One entry per person. Duplicate / multiple entries (and the registration of additional email addresses to improve odds of winning) will result in disqualification.

Step Two
CLICK HERE to send your email to to enter the contest. Use the subject header DTB ALREADY FREE CONTEST. Be sure to include your full name and postal address from the email address at which your receive the Eric Clapton News & More email alerts. Incomplete entries will result in disqualification. All qualified entrants will be entered in a random draw.

CONTEST RULES: No purchase necessary. Registration to receive the free Eric Clapton News & More email alerts is required for entry. Registration will be confirmed to validate entry. Contest starts 23 JANUARY 2009 and ends 14 FEBRUARY 2009 AT 23:59 (time in London, England). One entry per per person. Multiple entries, the registration of multiple email addresses for one person and incomplete entries will result in disqualification. Where’s Eric! is not responsible for the timeliness of delivery or electronic or computer malfunctions that may effect the delivery or content of the entry. Winners will be selected in a random draw from all eligible entries on or about 15 February 2009. Winner will receive one copy of the Derek Trucks Band "Already Free" CD. Winner will be notified by email. If a winner cannot be reached within 48 hours of notification, an alternate winner will be selected. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Prize is non-transferable and non-exchangeable. No substitution or cash equivalent will be made. All decisions of Where’s Eric! Staff are final.


The DEREK TRUCKS BAND consists of Derek Turcks on guitar, Todd Smallie on bass, percussionist Count M’Buto, Yonrico Scott on drums, Kofi Burbridge on keyboards and vocalist Mike Mattison.

The first single from the album – a cover of "Down In The Flood" from Bob Dylan and The Band’s "The Basement Tapes" was released 4 November. It has almost more relevance now post-Hurricane Katrina than when it was written in 1967. "I think it really turned out to be one of the most powerful tracks on the record. I think lyrically it’s pretty timely. Crash on the levee, down in the flood, are so significant post-Katrina. There are some good metaphors, as there are in most Dylan tunes," says Trucks.

"Already Free" reflects all of Trucks’ many influences and experiences, and highlights the quintessential Derek Trucks Band sound of mixing soulful vocals and expert guitar playing on what is poised to be the band’s definitive album.

Track Listing:

01. Down In The Flood
02. Something To Make You Happy
03. Maybe This Time
04. Sweet Inspiration
05. Don’t Miss Me
06. Get What You Deserve
07. Our Love
08. Down Don’t Bother Me
09. Day Is Almost Gone
10. Back Where I Started
11. I Know
12. Already Free

For more information, visit

 PUBLICITY RELEASE: Participation constitutes permission for Where’s Eric!, without any further obligation to the contest winner, to use winner’s name and city / country of residence for promotional purposes.

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook