EC’s 2013 Tour Stops At LG Arena

Eric Clapton’s 2013 Tour stopped at Birmingham’s LG Arena on Monday, 13 May. The set list was tweaked a bit from the two previous concerts in Dublin and Belfast, with “I Shot The Sheriff” making its first appearance on the second leg of the tour. “What an amazing night,” according to Matt S. “I have seen Eric countless times but last night his solos were out of this world. You knew he was in the mood as soon as he plugged in his grigio grey strat! I loved “Hello Old Friend” – such a great starter to the night.”

Darryl L. said, “He has a tight band with him at the moment, and they share the load as string and keyboard players all get a crack of the whip while the great Steve Jordan, counts them in with a grunt behind the tubs. The man does not need many cans to make a noise, what a great drummer he is. With Willie Weeks he makes a great rhythm section and the concert to see in full would be the Eric Clapton trio that performed three numbers at the 12.12.12 charity concert last December. The Dominos numbers (Tell the Truth, Got To Get Better) where particularly good, and as I was fortunate enough to be front and centre, Eric clearly seemed to be lost in the moment when he performed his solos.”

Kit C. noted “Eric played his pewter (Ferrari Grigio Silverstone?) EC Signature stratocaster with Fender Noiseless pickups for all electric numbers, with the exception of a black EC strat set up for capo. He was playing through a Fender EC Signature Twinolux. For acoustic numbers, he played EC Signature Martin guitars through an unidentified amp. It was not the Dumble used on the U.S. leg. EC’s wah was a Cry Baby, rather than the Vox he’s used a lot recently.

EC and His Band are in Manchester tonight (14 May). Gary Clark Jr. opens on all dates in England. Andy Fairweather Low & The Low Riders will be the support on all European concerts in May and June.  For a complete list of upcoming gigs, click here.

Band Lineup:
Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Doyle Bramhall II – guitar, backing vocals
Greg Leisz – pedal steel guitar
Chris Stainton – piano, keyboards
Paul Carrack – organ, keyboards. vocals
Willie Weeks – bass
Steve Jordan – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals

13 May 2013 Set List – Eric Clapton & His Band
LG Arena – Birmingham
01. Hello Old Friend
02. My Fathers Eyes
03. Tell The Truth
04. Black Cat Bone
05. Got To Get Better In A Little While
06. Come Rain Or Come Shine (EC & Paul Carrack – vocals)
07. I Shot The Sheriff
08. Driftin’
09. Further On Down The Road
10. It Ain’t Easy (Paul Carrack – vocals)
11. Layla
12. Stones In My Passway
13. Lay Down Sally
14. Wonderful Tonight
15. Badge
16. Love In Vain
17. Crossroads
18. Little Queen Of Spades
19. Cocaine
20. High Time We Went (EC & Paul Carrack – vocals)

Find daily facts about Eric Clapton’s career with EC Rewind // On This Day. Click the red circle with white arrow at upper right on any page of

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook