EC in Tokyo: Night 3

Eric Clapton debuted a new color signature model Stratocaster with his 2019 Tokyo Residency. It’s an Aston Martin car color called “Almond Green;” a much lighter hue than his Strats finished with Porsche and Mercedes car colors. Eric continues to use the same Martin acoustic he has played since 2015 but it now has a small DPA microphone mounted to the pick guard close to the bridge.

The April 17 show was another great one according to early reports. The set list, with “Layla” in the acoustic part, was unchanged from Night 2. Fans exiting the show are reporting  “Wanna Make Love To You,” “Badge,” and “Crossroads” were the highlights and there was lots of wah-wah in the opening number, “Pretending.” 

Eric, the band and crew are back at the venue for two final shows on April 18 and 20. In May and June, Eric has concerts in London, Berlin, Vienna, Mannheim, and Dresden. He wraps up his 2019 performance schedule in September with the two-night Crossroads Guitar Festival in Dallas.

Eric Clapton & His Band
17 April 2019 Set List

01. Pretending
02. Key To The Highway
03. Wanna Make Love To You
04. Hoochie Coochie Man
05. I Shot The Sheriff
06. Driftin’
07. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
08. Tears In Heaven
09. Layla
10. Running On Faith
11. Badge
12. Wonderful Tonight
13. Crossroads
14. Little Queen Of Spades
15. Cocaine
16. High Time We Went (encore)

The Band:
Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Doyle Bramhall II – guitar, vocals
Chris Stainton – piano, keyboards
Paul Carrack – organ, keyboards, vocals
Nathan East – bass
Sonny Emory – drums
Katie Kissoon – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook