EC Raises The Roof At Mohegan Sun Arena

Eric Clapton’s “Fifty Years Further On Up The Road” stopped at the 10,000 seat Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Connecticut on 5 April. The venue has become a favored tour-stop over the last several years probably in no small part due to an always enthusiastic audience and great acoustics. In the two-plus hour concert, EC and his band turned in another killer performance. In fact, it may have been the best show of the tour.

The 21 songs touched on all phases of Eric’s career including his deep blues roots. The three song suite of “Stones In My Passway,” “Crossroads,” and “Little Queen Of Spades” had EC taking solo after solo. “Tell The Truth”, “Got To Get Better In A Little While” and “Sunshine Of Your Love” were outstanding. One concert-goer wrote briefly “I didn’t know what was more mind blowing…EC dropping on his knees in front of this amp during Sunshine or signaling the band to go around again near the end of it!”

John F wrote, “First of all, it was easy to hear some of the more subtle touches by all of the musicians thanks to the great sound. Greg’s mandolin and slide and Michelle’s and Sharon’s soaring backing vocals especially on EC’s new song, Got To Get Over. The keyboards of Chris and Paul were never muddied together. You could hear EC touching the strings in the acoustic set. For the electric, EC’s guitar was loud and upfront. It was an unbelievable show; one of the best of the 9 or 10 I’ve seen over the years. EC is playing like a guy less than half his age. My favorites were Got To Get Better In A Little While, I Shot The Sheriff, the acoustic Wonderful Tonight, Sunshine Of Your Love and High Time We Went.”

The US leg of the 2013 tour wraps Saturday 6 April in Pittsburgh. Next on EC’s schedule is his Crossroads Guitar Festival at Madison Square Garden on 12/13 April.

Eric Clapton & His Band Set List
5 April 2013 – Uncasville CT

01. Hello Old Friend
02. My Fathers Eyes
03. Tell The Truth
04. Gotta Get Over
05. Black Cat Bone
06. Got To Get Better In A Little While
07. Tempted (Paul Carrack)
08. I Shot The Sheriff
09. Driftin’
10. Nobody knows You
11. Tears In Heaven
12. Good Night Irene
13. Wonderful Tonight
14. How Long (Paul Carrack)
15. Stones In My Passway
16. Love in Vain
17. Crossroads
18. Little Queen Of Spades
19. Cocaine
20. Sunshine Of Your Love
21. High Time We Went (Paul Carrack)

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook