EC Launches 2022 Tour With London Concert

Eric Clapton launched his 2022 Tour with a concert at London’s Royal Albert Hall on 7 May and will be back at the venue for a second performance on 8 May. Both shows are part of the Victorian-era venue’s 150th anniversary season. EC has performed at the Hall more than 200 times since his debut on it’s stage on 7 December 1964 when he was a part of The Yardbirds.

EC opened the sold-out concert with a cover of Gary Brooker’s “Lead Me To The Water” while a photo of the Procol Harum founder was projected behind the stage. Gary, a long-time friend and colleague of EC’s, passed away in February. “Lead Me To The Water” was recorded for Gary’s 1982 solo album of the same name and featured George Harrison, Phil Collins, Albert Lee, Henry Spinetti and Chris Stainton in addition to EC.

The acoustic set had a special guest, Andy Fairweather Low.  Andy first rose to prominence with Amen Corner in the sixties and forged a successful career as a solo artist and in-demand session player. In the early nineties, he joined EC’s band with which he stayed until 2003 touring and recording  Eric’s ‘Unplugged’, ‘From the Cradle’, ‘Pilgrim’, ‘Riding with the King’, ‘Reptile’, ‘One More Car One More Rider’, ‘Me & Mr. Johnson’ and ‘Back Home’ albums. He still works with EC on the road and in the studio. Andy and his band, The Low Riders, are support for the two Hall dates plus several upcoming European gigs.

In a surprising move and one that completely thrilled those in attendance, “Layla” was performed twice – first unplugged-style in the acoustic set and then again near the show in the second electric set as on the 1970 classic album, “Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs.”

EC’s band for the tour is Nathan East (bass), Sonny Emory (drums), Doyle Bramhall (guitar/vocals), Chris Stainton (keyboards), Paul Carrack (organ / keyboards / vocals), Sharon White (vocals) and Katie Kissoon (vocals).

Eric Clapton Set List – 7 May 2022
01. Lead Me To The Water
02. Key To The Highway
03. Pilgrim
04. River Of Tears
05. I Shot The Sheriff
06. White Room
07. Heart Of A Child*
08. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out*
09. Smile*
10. Layla* (acoustic)
11. Tears In Heaven*
12. Badge
13. Wonderful Tonight
14. Crossroads
15. Little Queen of Spades
16. Layla (electric)
17. High Time We Went (encore)

*with special guest Andy Fairweather Low

2022 Band Lineup:
Eric Clapton – guitar / vocals
Nathan East – bass / vocals
Sonny Emory – drums
Doyle Bramhall – guitar / vocals
Chris Stainton – keyboards
Paul Carrack – organ / keyboards / vocals
Katie Kissoon – vocals
Sharon White – vocals

Eric Clapton 2022 Tour Dates
7 May 22: Royal Albert Hall, London (England)
8 May 22: Royal Albert Hall, London (England)
17 May 22: Hallenstadion, Zurich (Switzerland)
18 May 22: Mediolanum Forum, Milan (Italy)
20 May 22: Unipol Arena, Bologna (Italy)
21 May 22: Unipol Arena, Bologna (Italy)
29 May 22: Waldbuhhne, Berlin (Germany) – Day In The Green with Zucchero
31 May 22: Schleyerhalle, Stuttgart (Germany)
2 Jun 22: Olympiahalle, Munich (Germany)
5 Jun 22: O2 Arena, Prague (Czech Republic)
7 Jun 22: Ziggo Dome, Amsterdam (Netherlands)
8 Jun 22: Ziggo Dome, Amsterdam (Netherlands)
10 Jun 22: ISS Dome, Dusseldorf (Germany)
12 Jun 22: Sportpalais, Antwerp (Belgium)
14 Jun 22: Royal Arena, Copenhagen (Denmark)
15 Jun 22: Royal Arena, Copenhagen (Denmark)
17 Jun 22: Nokia Arena, Tampere (Finland)

Watch EC share his Royal Albert Hall Memories: 

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook