EC Kicks Off U.S. Dates At Chase Center. Carlos Santana Joins Encore!

Eric Clapton joined on stage by Carlos Santana for High Time We Went!

Eric Clapton kicked of his run of U.S. dates at the newly opened Chase Center in San Francisco on Thursday, September 11. The performance started with a firm fan-favorite: “Pretending” – with lots of wah-wah – from 1989’s Journeyman. Eric balanced the evening’s set list with a mix of his worldwide hits and blues including “Hoochie Coochie Man,” “I Shot The Sheriff”, “Tears In Heaven,” and electric “Layla”.

For the encore, there was a special treat for the sold-out crowd as Carlos Santana joined Eric on stage for the encore, “High Time We Went”.

For these dates, Eric’s band is Doyle Bramhall II, Nathan East, Chris Stainton, Paul Carrack, Steve Gadd, Sharon White and Katie Kissoon.

Next on the schedule are gigs in Las Vegas on September 13 and Phoenix on September 14th. Eric’s U.S. dates will culminate in the two-night Crossroads Guitar Festival on September 20 and 21. 

Learn how to help Where’s Eric! document Eric Clapton’s performances with reviews and photos here

Review submitted by Dean Owen:
Eric Clapton Wednesday night demonstrated his mastery of the guitar and led the gifted musicians of his band through a powerful 14-song set.  He then surprised the audience at the new Chase Center in San Francisco by bringing Carlos Santana on for the encore.

Among the highlights:

– Key to the Highway where Eric and Doyle Bramhall traded raging solos, the latter employing a glass slide, adding depth to the song, not unlike that of Duane Allman on the Layla album from 1970.

– Eric poignantly honored his son Conor, who died tragically in 1991 at age 6, with two songs – Circus Left Town and Tears in Heaven. The shuffle-style arrangement on the latter was as unexpected as it was admired and appreciated.

– The belief by some that Eric’s best days may be over would have been convinced otherwise by his powerful, thunderous guitar work on Badge, as he and Bramhall traded screaming solos.

– After extended solos by Paul Carrack (organ) and Chris Stainton (piano) on Little Queen of Spades, Eric brought members of the audience to their feet with the opening chords of Layla. This is my person favorite among Eric’s vast repertoire and from the audience’s reaction Wednesday night, it was clear I am not alone. 

Eric and the band then left the stage only to return a few minutes with Carlos Santana. They burst into a rousing, rowdy, rendition of High Time We Went. Carrack took over the reins and directed all the musicians through solos, the highlight of which was Santana’s raucous and engaging performance. It was evident he was thrilled to be sharing the stage with his compatriot of several decades. They bowed in honor of each other as they left the stage at 10:40 pm.

For this fan of more than 50 years it was a “deja vu moment.” I last saw Eric introduce Santana as a surprise guest in August of 1975 at Frost Amphitheater on the campus of Stanford University. Tonight’s show and that one more than 40 years ago, will long – and fondly – be remembered. 

Eric Clapton & His Band
11 September 2019 Set List

01. Pretending
02. Key to the Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. I Shot The Sheriff
05. Driftin Blues
06. Circus Left Town
07. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out
08. Tears in Heaven
09. Badge
10. Holy Mother
11. Crossroads
12. Little Queen of Spades
13. Layla
14. High Time We Went (encore) with Carlos Santana

The Band:
Eric Clapton – guitar / vocals
Nathan East – bass / vocals
Steve Gadd – drums
Doyle Bramhall – guitar / vocals
Chris Stainton – keyboards
Paul Carrack – organ / keyboards / vocals
Katie Kissoon – vocals
Sharon White – vocals

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook