Clapton News From Reykjavic

EC and his band visited Iceland for the first time on 8 August 2008. The venue, on the outskirts of Reykjavic, was a hangar-like structure. The heat inside was oppressive, particularly close to the stage due to the added presence of lighting, sound and other electrical equipment. One fan rang the WE! Team on Saturday to report that he was down front. By the time the concert was over, he felt a bit unwell and that it was "cooler in the Cottonbowl in Texas during the Crossroads Concert." He added that the entire band looked equally uncomfortable in the extreme heat.

Described as an "average" show, those in attendance were disappointed that "Layla" was not performed, particularly the younger fans. But, "Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad" has been described as "fantastic" while "Here But I’m Gone" and "Isn’t It A Pity" were "nice".

The warm-up act was Ellen Kristjansdottir. The band now moves on to Denmark for a concert Sunday evening during the Skanderborg Festival.

Concert Set List for 8 August 2008:

01. Tell The Truth
02. Key To The Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. Here But I’m Gone
05. Outside Woman Blues
06. Isn’t It A Pity
07. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad
08. Driftin’
09. Nobody Knows You
10. Motherless Child
11. Travelling Riverside Blues
12. Running On Faith
13. Motherless Children
14. Little Queen of Spades
15. Before You Accuse Me
16. Wonderful Tonight
17. Cocaine

18. Crossroads

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook