Clapton In Japan: Osaka

Eric Clapton brought his 2014 Tour to Osaka-Jo Hall on February 26 playing a two-hour concert of 18 songs for a sold out crowd. This first leg of the tour also celebrates 40 years of performing in Japan for the guitarist. Included in the set were some of his most beloved hits like “Pretending,” “Wonderful Tonight,” “Layla,” “I Shot The Sheriff” “Cocaine,” and “Tears In Heaven” interspersed with deeper album cuts and blues.

One lucky fan who attended told Where’s Eric!, “Fans welcomed EC warmly with big applause since beginning of the show to the end but after they left the stage, immediately light was on, and people screamed for this ending. Many old fans with gray hair, probably same age as EC, everywhere in arena, all looked happy to see old friend EC still very active – must have thought too early to stop the show exactly same as me.” No live concert is ever long enough for an artist’s biggest fans!

Eric, his band and crew are now on their way to Tokyo for their fourth and final show at the Nippon Budokan on February 28. It also concludes the 2014 Japan dates. A concert in Bangkok, scheduled for March 2, has been postponed. Those who purchased tickets can request refunds.  Eric will now continue on to Singapore, Dubai and Bahrain, where this leg of the tour wraps up on March 8.

A tour the United States happens in April and May with dates in the U.K. and Europe in June. A complete Eric Clapton Tour Itinerary for 2014 can be found here

Eric Clapton & His Band – February 26, 2014 Set List
01. Pretending
02. Key To They Highway
03. Tell The Truth
04. Hoochie Coochie Man
05. Honest Man
06. Wonderful Tonight
07. I Shot The Sheriff
08. Driftin’
09. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
10. Alabama Woman
11. Layla
12. Tears In Heaven
13. How Long (Paul Carrack / Vocals)
14. Before You Accuse Me
15. Crossroads
16. Little Queen Of Spades
17. Cocaine
18. High Time We Went (Encore – Paul Carrack / Vocals)

Band Lineup
Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Chris Stainton – piano, keyboards
Paul Carrack – organ, keyboards
Nathan East – bass
Steve Gadd – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals

Were you at this show? What did you think of it? Share your opnion with fans around the world! Send your review to where it will be published in the Eric Clapton Tour Archive for this date. Photos welcome too!

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook