Clapton Guests On New Toots And The Maytals Album, “True Love”

Reggae legend Toots Hibbert and his revered backing ensemble the Maytals, are joined by a varied group of guests on their new album, "True Love". Eric Clapton, Keith Richards, Jeff Beck, Trey Anastasio, Ben Harper, Ryan Adams and No Doubt are just a few of the names on hand for True Love, their new fifteen-song album due April 6th 2004 on V2.

True Love opens with a duet with Willie Nelson’s on Nelson’s own "Still Is Still Moving to Me," but most of the album finds the reggae legends and their guests reinterpreting old Toots and the Maytals classics like "Pressure Drop" (featuring Eric Clapton), "Time Tough" (Ryan Adams) and "Monkey Man" (No Doubt).

Hibbert was born in the Jamaican countryside, before relocated to the capitol Kingston in the early Sixties and where he formed his first ensemble, the Vikings. By 1964, the group became the Maytals.


  1. Still Is Still Moving to Me (with Willie Nelson)
  2. True Love Is Hard to Find (Bonnie Raitt)
  3. Pressure Drop (Eric Clapton)
  4. Time Tough (Ryan Adams)
  5. Bam Bam (Shaggy and Rahzel)
  6. 54-46 Was My Number (Jeff Beck)
  7. Monkey Man (No Doubt)
  8. Sweet and Dandy (Trey Anastasio)
  9. Funky Kingston (Bootsy Collins and the Roots)
  10. Reggae Got Soul (Ken Boothe and Marcia Griffiths)
  11. Never Grow Old (Terry Hall and the Skatalites)
  12. Take a Trip (Bunny Wailer and Eric Clapton)
  13. Love Gonna Walk Out on Me (Ben Harper)
  14. Careless Ethiopians (Keith Richards)
  15. Blame on Me (Rachel Yamagate)

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook