Clapton Concert News From Houston

Eric Clapton’s “Fifty Years Further On Up The Road” Tour rolled into Houston’s Toyota Center on Saturday, 16 March. Those attending were surprised (and pleased!) by the show’s opening number, “Hello Old Friend,” which hasn’t been featured in a live set since 1976. For this tour, the obligatory Wonderful Tonight has been rearranged and moved into the seated portion of the show with EC on acoustic and Doyle Bramhall II and Greg Leisz playing the line. Although the crowd was disappointed that “Layla” was dropped from the set for first time since the Blues Tour era of 94/95, they are reporting a solid show. Dave S said, “Best action was Little Queen Of Spades when Doyle pushed Eric to his best playing of the night.”  Charlie F echoed this, writing “Show EC gave was almost perfect, except for leaving Layla off his set list. Really dug the blues section. You need to see him before he stops touring.” Nigel B. commented “I think a lot of folks were disappointed in some of Clapton’s selected songs. When he started Goodnight Irene, a whole flock of concert goers headed for the concessions or bathrooms.  Perhaps they were expecting Claptons Greatest Hits, but it’s nice to see him in a position where he can play whatever he pleases. The band were as usual simply great, and Paul Carrack was a very welcome addition, I just wish Paul were more well known over here and that he would tour the US.”

Scott P. from Houston reported in on the merchandise being sold, particularly mentioning a limited edition tour poster, several retro-style tour t-shirts and a tour logo keychain. The tour program features memorabilia from throughout EC’s 50 year career and a gig list covering 1962 to present. The merchandise is only available at the shows at this time.

The Wallflowers opened. Next up on the EC Band itinerary is a gig tonight in Austin (it’s not a part of the annual SXSW Festival which ends today). For a complete list of upcoming shows, click here.

Fan reviews will be posted in the Tour Section of this site, along with set lists, as the tour continues. If you’re heading to a show, send your review to Keep sending your photos, too. After this leg of the tour ends, the WE! Team will be building a new photo gallery to host them.

Eric Clapton & His Band: Houston
16 March 2013 Set List

01. Hello Old Friend
02. My Father’s Eyes
03. Tell The Truth
04. Got To Get Over
05. Black Cat Bone
06. Got To Get Better
07. Tempted (Paul Carrack)
08. I Shot The Sheriff
09. Driftin’
10. Nobody Knows You
11. Tears In Heaven
12. Goodnight Irene
13. Wonderful Tonight
14. How Long (Paul Carrack)
15. Stones In My Passway
16. Love In Vain
17. Crossroads
18. Little Queen of Spades
19. Cocaine
20. Sunshine Of Your Love – encore
21. High Time We Went (Paul Carrack) – encore

Band Lineup:
Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Doyle Bramhall II – guitar
Greg Leisz – pedal steel guitar
Chris Stainton – piano, keyboards
Paul Carrack – organ, keyboards
Willie Weeks – bass
Steve Jordan – drums
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook