Clapton Concert Details: Budokan Hall 3 December 2003

Eric Clapton and His Band performed at Tokyo’s Budokan Hall on 3 December. It was the fourth of eight gigs.

The complete set list was:

01. When You Got A Good Friend
02. Crossroads
03. I Shot The Sheriff
04. Bell Bottom Blues
05. Reconsider Baby
06. Can’t Find My Way Home
07. White Room
08. I Want A Little Girl
09. Got My Mojo Working
10. Hoochie Coochie Man
11. Change The World
12. Bright Lights, Big City
13. Kind Hearted Woman
14. Badge
15. Holy Mother
16. Lay Down Sally
17. Wonderful Tonight
18. Cocaine
19. Layla
20. Sunshine Of Your Love (encore)
21. Somewhere Over The Rainbow (encore)

Band Line Up:
Eric Clapton – Vocals, Guitar
Nathan East – Bass
Steve Gadd – Drums
Andy Fairweather Low – Guitar
Chris Stainton – Keyboards

Concert Review By Tsuzuki Hiroyuki

Eric Clapton seems to have reached a climax of his energy on the 4th day at Budokan. His guitar performance regained the sharp-edged aspect in comparision with that of first day. One or two minutes’ guitar solo that he played in almost every tune was not enough to make the whole show dramatically great, but it enabled the audience to feel his permanent ability and passion as guitar player. Introducing Andy Fairweather Low as vocalist on "Bright Lights Big City", Eric said, "I’m very old". It is true that he is near sixty years of age. Cream days are gone in the far past. Nevertheless, an instinct for blues music and a lust of live performance still exist in the subconsious of old guitarist. After the show, the audience shared a feeling of satisfaction with each other, having experienced Eric’s never-ending energy.

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook