Clapton At The Budokan: Night Three

Like many of his fans who’ve reached or are approaching retirement age, Eric Clapton seems to be struggling with the concept of “retirement.” In the Japan 2016 programme, EC writes, “I’m back again, although I’m not supposed to be, I’m actually officially retired, but I haven’t really worked out what that means yet! So, while I’m figuring it out, I thought it would be great to come back and see all my friends in Tokyo.”

Those who attended Saturday’s concert at the Nippon Budokan (as well as the first two on 13 and 15 April), are reporting that Eric’s playing is still top-notch and more like that of a young man, citing his solos in “I Shot The Sheriff,” “Crossroads,” and “Gin House.”

Of “Sheriff,” one fan wrote, “I thought that the solo was spectacular as always. How could it be possible?! Audiences were saying like “so cool!” “Wonderful!” “what a good solo.” “I can’t find words” etc. after it ended.” The same fan noted, “Michelle and Sharon were supporting with great voice this time as well. I liked their chorus on the “I Will be there” and “Crossroads.” Another concert-goer told WE! that “Wonderful Tonight” is being performed in a reggae-style this tour.

There were no changes to the set list on Saturday other than flip-flopping “Nobody Knows You” and “I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine” in the acoustic set.

Eric, the band and crew have 2 shows left at the Budokan on 18 and 19 April. Although no more concerts will happen in 2016, the “retiree” has a new album out on 20 May. “I Still Do” will be released by Bushbranch Records / Surfdog Records. It can be pre-ordered here.

Were you at the show? What did you think of it? Share your opnion with fans around the world! Send your review to where it will be published in the Eric Clapton Tour Archive for this date. Photos welcome too!

Eric Clapton & His Band
16 April 2016 Set List
Nippon Budokan, Tokyo Night 3

01. Somebody’s Knockin’ *
02. Key To The Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. Next Time You See Me
05. I Shot The Sheriff
06. Circus Left Town
07. I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine *
08. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
09. I Will Be There *
10. Cypress Grove *
11. Sunshine State
12. Gin House
13. Wonderful Tonight
14. Crossroads
15. Little Queen Of Spades
16. Cocaine
17. High Time We Went (encore)

* From EC’s forthcoming album, I Still Do. 

The Band:
Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Andy Fairweather Low – guitar, vocals
Chris Stainton – piano, keyboards
Paul Carrack – organ, keyboards, vocals
Dave Bronze – bass
Henry Spinetti – drums
Dirk Powell – multi-instrumentalist
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals 

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook