Clapton At The Budokan: Final Night

Eric Clapton wrapped up a five show residency at the Nippon Budokan in Tokyo on 19 April. It was also EC’s final concert of 2016. Fans in attendance told WE! that it was a stellar show from the “officially retired, but still trying to figure out what it means” guitar legend, who has toured the world since 1963.

Standouts were “I Shot The Sheriff”, “Cocaine” (with a wah-wah into played by EC), the reggae-fied “Wonderful Tonight,” “Crossroads” and “Gin House.” The 17-song set was flavored with an Americana-vibe thanks to Dirk Powell’s contributions on mandolin, fiddle, accordian and guitar. Andy Fairweather Low also deserves a special nod for performing with two fingers on his right hand bandaged together throughout the residency. Not easy to strum a guitar like that!

Although there are no more concerts nor a Crossroads Guitar Festival scheduled this year, the “retiree” has a new album out on 20 May. “I Still Do” will be released by Bushbranch Records / Surfdog Records.

Fan reviews will be added to the tour archive for this date as they arrive. If you were at this show, or went on any of the previous evenings, tell us about it! Send reviews to Photos welcome too!

Eric Clapton & His Band
19 April 2016 Set List
Nippon Budokan, Tokyo Night 5

01. Somebody’s Knockin’ *
02. Key To The Highway
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. Next Time You See Me
05. I Shot The Sheriff
06. Circus Left Town
07. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
08. I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine *
09. I Will Be There *
10. Cypress Grove *
11. Sunshine State
12. Gin House
13. Wonderful Tonight
14. Crossroads
15. Little Queen Of Spades
16. Cocaine
17. High Time We Went (encore)

* From EC’s forthcoming album, I Still Do. It can be pre-ordered here.

The Band:
Eric Clapton – guitar, vocals
Andy Fairweather Low – guitar, vocals
Chris Stainton – piano, keyboards
Paul Carrack – organ, keyboards, vocals
Dave Bronze – bass
Henry Spinetti – drums
Dirk Powell – multi-instrumentalist
Michelle John – backing vocals
Sharon White – backing vocals 

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook