Clapton At The Borgata, Atlantic City

In the middle of the U.S. Memorial Day Holiday Weekend, Eric Clapton and His Band performed a stellar set at The Borgata in Atlantic City, New Jersey. A fairly intimate indoor venue wiith only 2400 seats, the hotel and casino’s Event Center was the smallest venue on Eric’s summer itinerary.

The concert also marked EC’s first solo concert in Atlantic City. His only previous appearance there was as a guest during the Rolling Stones’ Steel Wheels Tour in December 1989 at the famed Convention Hall.

The 25 May 2008 concert opened with a string of back to back classics: “Motherless Children,” “Key To The Highway,” “Hoochie Coochie Man,” and “Little Wing.” From there, the pace never let up. Eric’s solos in “Double Trouble” and his concluding solo in “Little Queen of Spades” added up to a blues guitar master class. Comfortable and at home in the blues-heavy set, EC was simply on fire. The night was very light on Eric’s hits, with “Wonderful Tonight”, “Layla” and “Cocaine” only making their appearance near the end of the two-hour show.

For this tour, Eric has added two songs to his live repetoire. The first, “Don’t Knock My Love” was recorded by Wilson Pickett in 1971 and again in 1974 as a duet by Diana Ross and Marvin Gaye. The second number, “Rockin’ Chair” was written by American composer Hoagy Carmichael in 1929. First recorded by Louis Armstrong in 1929, versions have also been recorded by The Mills Brothers, Lonnie Johnson, Bix Beiderbecke, Bing Crosby, Peggy Lee and many others.

Eric and the band now head north to Canada for two shows later this week in Toronto and Montreal. Tour Support for all U.S. and Canada dates is Robert Randolph & The Family Band.

25 May 2008 Set List / The Borgata, Atlantic City NJ:

01. Motherless Children
02. Key To The Highway – EC started the song on slide, then switched guitars mid-song
03. Hoochie Coochie Man
04. Little Wing
05. Outside Woman Blues
06. Double Trouble
07. Don’t Knock My Love
08. Drifting
09. Rockin’ Chair
10. Motherless Child – EC used a 12 string Martin in open tuning with a capo at the 5th fret
11. Travelling Riverside Blues – EC used a black strat set up for slide with open tuning.
12. Running On Faith
13. Tell The Truth
14. Little Queen of Spades
15. Before You Accuse Me
16. Wonderful Tonight
17. Layla
18. Cocaine

19. I’ve Got My Mojo Working (with Robert Randolph)

Where’s Eric!
Find us on Facebook